Traitorous 14-month-old free to a good home.

So we’ve cleaned up most of the soot and grime in our house and all the “things-we-can’t-do-without” has been stashed away. Husband shows me a new game they’ve started which involves him standing with his feet wide apart and sprog running to and fro between his legs. Lots of hysterical laugh-until-something-comes-out-your-nose-or-mouth and shrieking ensued and then it was Mommy’s turn to stand with feet apart. Mommy has a lower and heavier centre of gravity than daddy so mommy decides to hold on to the mantel for stability. So if you can picture it… I have my right arm on the mantel, my right foot on the ground and my left leg and arm in the air to accomodated the “choo-choo coming through the tunnel!” Well, this carries on for a while and the sprog suddenly stops, takes a good look at me and mimics the way I’m standing while cackling loudly! I was never ever more humiliated! My own darling son, making fun of me and my spastic-ness! Needless to say his little “how does mommy stand?” trick was repeated again and again to howls of laughter and shrieking from him and his father. Traitorous little beast.
And this stings even more as he’s been cutting his upper and lower molars for the past three weeks and I’ve only loved and soothed and comforted and Vidol-ed him. The least he could do was let me retain my dignity by not laughing at my unfitness. When I spoke to my husband an hour ago, he informed me with absolute glee that my son was doing his “how does Mommy stand” routine for the guys at the pub! Seventeen hours of labour, abdominal surgery, icky support hose to prevent DVT and foundation garments straight out of the Victorian era (to get things to go back where they were) and this is what I get. So not fair! 🙂

24 thoughts on “Traitorous 14-month-old free to a good home.

  1. shazdart

    How can you stay mad at this precious little face.Glad you managed to clean up most of your mess before the weekend.Have a good one. xx

    Reply
  2. shazdart

    How can you stay mad at this precious little face.Glad you managed to clean up most of your mess before the weekend.Have a good one. xx

    Reply
  3. rochelle.barrish

    Noooo – I am going to have to contact that guy in Days of our lives who’s adept at erasing people’s memories… “how does Mommy stand” has to die!

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    Noooo – I am going to have to contact that guy in Days of our lives who’s adept at erasing people’s memories… “how does Mommy stand” has to die!

    Reply
  5. bothajs

    Cute! But I think we must get used to the “emotional abuse”, I think when the sproggies hit puberty, it will be much, much worse. In the meantime – enjoy.

    Reply
  6. bothajs

    Cute! But I think we must get used to the “emotional abuse”, I think when the sproggies hit puberty, it will be much, much worse. In the meantime – enjoy.

    Reply
  7. rochelle.barrish

    So true. My sister’s 5-year-old asked her to drop him on the school corner not the front gate as his friends will see his mommy dropping him. Apparently the only way to arrive at his school is in Dad’s bakkie or SUV…

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    So true. My sister’s 5-year-old asked her to drop him on the school corner not the front gate as his friends will see his mommy dropping him. Apparently the only way to arrive at his school is in Dad’s bakkie or SUV…

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    Hey E&I we’re doing well thanks. Went to Deer Park over the weekend and saw some other monsters… decided better the monster you know… So have decided to keep him for now!

    Reply
  10. rochelle.barrish

    Hey E&I we’re doing well thanks. Went to Deer Park over the weekend and saw some other monsters… decided better the monster you know… So have decided to keep him for now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

