a**whupped by a flu-shot

I’ve never been one for being organised and planning ahead. Things just sort of happen in my life. After a serious bout of flu happened to me last year while I was in the throes of getting to grips with having a 5-month-old baby I decided that next year I would get organised and have a flu jab. Well the e-mail came round from our in-house clinic and I asked to be added to the list. I felt extremely proud of my organising ability. I’ve also always been a bit of a nerd when it came to taking leave and every year I’m in a flat spin because my payslip says I have to take 40 days leave before 1 April or lose it all! Needless to say I usually ignore the little reminder until Zellie our office manager sends me a stern mail telling me to go on leave already! I took a chunk of leave in Jan/Feb and left a few days for March. Last Wednesday, my last day in the office before taking leave, our clinic calls to say I can come for my jab. I started hyperventilating then because I usually need DAYS to psyche myself up for a jab and the last ‘jab’ I had was an EPIDURAL needle. So I finally gather up the courage to go to our clinic and am immediately greeted by a vampire. The blood donation people have been calling me for months now and up until last week, my smug reply has always been – Sorry I’m still breastfeeding. Don’t get me wrong, I was a regular blood donor until my pregnancy and have just been taking a break from needles and other invaders as my little invader keeps me busy enough! So on Wednesday when the vampires asked me if I would be donating blood as well, I did my smug “Well I would love to but I’m still breastfeeding…” The nurse in charge asked me how old my suckling was and I told her. She said if he’s eating solids and breastfeeding is just a morning and night thing then I can certainly donate blood. And with one swift movement I was on the army bed and my lifeblood was draining out of me…
Once I survived all that it was time for the flu jab. After asking me mostly absurd questions such as: Can you sleep on chicken feathers? I was ready to be invaded again. Chicken feathers? huh? I told the nurse that I sleep under a goose down duvet – not sure if that has the same allergy inducing thing a chicken feather would have…  Anyhoo back to the office I went once I’d been jabbed and drained.
On Thursday morning which was supposed to be the start of a glorious few days of leave, my head erupted into a ball of snot, pain, dizzy spells and congestion. Needless to say I was in bed feeling extremely sorry for myself for the past 7 days and am only now feeling remotely human again. And in all fairness to sweet Husband, I was an even bigger baby than he was! So I am NEVER EVER EVER having a flu jab again. I will rather suffer some mildly horrid version of flu every winter than have the SUPERBUG I had for the past 7 days!
 

10 thoughts on “a**whupped by a flu-shot

  1. rebeccav

    I had a flu shot. Once. I was sick for 3 months! Never again! I’d also rather put up with a week of fluish symptoms than what I endured!I can’t believe they made you donate blood right before getting a flu shot!?! Go figure!

    Reply
  2. rebeccav

    I had a flu shot. Once. I was sick for 3 months! Never again! I’d also rather put up with a week of fluish symptoms than what I endured!I can’t believe they made you donate blood right before getting a flu shot!?! Go figure!

    Reply
  3. drugtesting

    This is not the first time I have heard this – my mother in laws GP insists she has a flu jab because of her heart – but she is always the one that gets sick – I don’t like sticking any foreign stuff into my body – so I usually stay away from those things! I am surprised though that they gave you the jab so soon after donating blood!!!!

    Reply
  4. drugtesting

    This is not the first time I have heard this – my mother in laws GP insists she has a flu jab because of her heart – but she is always the one that gets sick – I don’t like sticking any foreign stuff into my body – so I usually stay away from those things! I am surprised though that they gave you the jab so soon after donating blood!!!!

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    I know! I told the both sets of nurses that I was there for a flu jab and not one of them told me not to donate blood… strange.

    Reply
  6. rochelle.barrish

    I know! I told the both sets of nurses that I was there for a flu jab and not one of them told me not to donate blood… strange.

    Reply
  7. parent24ed

    Ah no Shell, sorry you felt so rotten. I wouldn’t know if I can sleep under a chicken feather! Thanks for your blog posts, they always make me smile (even though you have been suffering.)

    Reply
  8. parent24ed

    Ah no Shell, sorry you felt so rotten. I wouldn’t know if I can sleep under a chicken feather! Thanks for your blog posts, they always make me smile (even though you have been suffering.)

    Reply
  9. ebonyandivory

    Youre tagged! The 5 thing I love about being a mother, challenge. And oops I just decided, I will not get a flu shot!! I hate needles anyway!! And donating blood…so sorry no can do. Take hubbies is my reply!!

    Reply
  10. ebonyandivory

    Youre tagged! The 5 thing I love about being a mother, challenge. And oops I just decided, I will not get a flu shot!! I hate needles anyway!! And donating blood…so sorry no can do. Take hubbies is my reply!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

