B#%#^%# Breeders!

Before I married and had my son, I was rather intolerant of screaming kids. I could handle screaming kids anywhere except while I was shopping! Shopping was and still is a HUGE headache for me… hate it, hate it, hate it! And because I’m already in a bad mood, someone’s screaming kid always drove me nuts and my usual refrain was Bleeding Breeders! Can they not CONTROL THAT? Well last night, I was a Bleeding Breeder! Went to PnP after work and my son was NOT in the mood. I was slightly embarrassed at first but dear readers… It’s amazing how quickly that embarrassment switched to full-blown defiance. I felt like one of the freedom fighters of old facing off against the apartheid police! I dared ANYONE, especially intolerant singletons to take me on about my screaming child. The cupboards were bare and I needed to shop! The poor staff who were all just minding their own little packing-the-shelf-or-rearranging-the-meat-business were all cringing everytime our trolley came down their aisle.
I was determined to not be held ransom by an 83cm tall demon who wanted to get out and run around the shop instead of sitting in the trolley snacking on his biltong! I sent a silent apology to all the BB’s I ever cursed in my life and an apology to any singletons who dropped their baskets of food in terror when they heard us.
I hang my head in shame when I think back to what I used to call ‘these people!’

12 thoughts on “B#%#^%# Breeders!

  1. tania.roux

    You rock sista, I take my defiance a step further and demand a vocal account of everything in the trolley as we unpack at the till. Keeps him busy and he learns.Enjoy!

    Reply
  2. tania.roux

    You rock sista, I take my defiance a step further and demand a vocal account of everything in the trolley as we unpack at the till. Keeps him busy and he learns.Enjoy!

    Reply
  3. rebeccav

    Isn’t it amazing how our perspective changes when we’re in those ’embarassing’ situations :)I used to do the same!!!

    Reply
  4. rebeccav

    Isn’t it amazing how our perspective changes when we’re in those ’embarassing’ situations :)I used to do the same!!!

    Reply
  5. bothajs

    Yip, I also used to roll my eyes and gave the screaming kiddy’s mom “the look”, but now the shoe is on the other foot, and boy, Minki enjoys shopping.Running wildly down the aisles, unpacking everything she can reach on the floor, etc, etc. I already mentioned she loves to scream…..

    Reply
  6. bothajs

    Yip, I also used to roll my eyes and gave the screaming kiddy’s mom “the look”, but now the shoe is on the other foot, and boy, Minki enjoys shopping.Running wildly down the aisles, unpacking everything she can reach on the floor, etc, etc. I already mentioned she loves to scream…..

    Reply
  7. shazdart

    Thank the Lord that I didn’t have a screamer, but I do sympathise with you. Good for you sticking to your guns, when they get away with something once, we are lost!

    Reply
  8. shazdart

    Thank the Lord that I didn’t have a screamer, but I do sympathise with you. Good for you sticking to your guns, when they get away with something once, we are lost!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

