Fetch Thomas!

Hey – I’m finally reaping one of the coolest rewards of parenthood – getting your child to fetch things for you! I taught him to fetch his nappies, his bumcream, wetwipes and slippers. It’s so cool, especially on cold nights when I’ve plonked myself in front of the fire. Thomas fetch nappy for mama please?  And off he toddles to his room – of course huge fanfare when he gets back with the nappy! His bumcream and wetwipes are sort of the same thing for him – Thomas mama would like to change your nappy – please bring your wetwipes and cream – I think he only fetches it because he knows it’s part of the nappy changing ritual! Also in the morning before he’s allowed out of the room – Where’s your slippers Thomas? and off he toddles to get his stokies! Too cute!
On to another matter – He was 17 months yesterday. Is it too early to potty train? He’s as regular as clockwork – we know exactly when he’s going to make a poo – should we just put him on the potty when we know it’s time or should we wait until after he’s 2?

20 thoughts on “Fetch Thomas!

  1. chanua

    Why not give it a try. My daughter was 15 months and my son almost 2 and a half before he was completely off the nappy. They quite intelligent little ones albeit they can’t verbalise their thoughts as yet.

    Reply
  2. chanua

    Why not give it a try. My daughter was 15 months and my son almost 2 and a half before he was completely off the nappy. They quite intelligent little ones albeit they can’t verbalise their thoughts as yet.

    Reply
  3. rebeccav

    Ooooh! I must try this with Connor! Never even thought of it but he fetches other stuff, so why not?Potty training at 17 months! GO FOR IT! Do you know how much you can save on nappies?

    Reply
  4. rebeccav

    Ooooh! I must try this with Connor! Never even thought of it but he fetches other stuff, so why not?Potty training at 17 months! GO FOR IT! Do you know how much you can save on nappies?

    Reply
  5. deblet

    Give pottie training a bash,some get it fast and you are major lucky,others take a while.My hubbie calls our kids his remote controls he gets them to do so many things that I can’t get them to do

    Reply
  6. deblet

    Give pottie training a bash,some get it fast and you are major lucky,others take a while.My hubbie calls our kids his remote controls he gets them to do so many things that I can’t get them to do

    Reply
  7. parent24ed

    Use and abuse the fetching thing for now. Believe me it the novelty does wear off for them eventually! Now it’s a novelty for Joel to be allowed to pour boiling water to make tea. So I am enjoying that while it lasts.

    Reply
  8. parent24ed

    Use and abuse the fetching thing for now. Believe me it the novelty does wear off for them eventually! Now it’s a novelty for Joel to be allowed to pour boiling water to make tea. So I am enjoying that while it lasts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

