Survival instinct vs Maternal instinct

Morning sproggers. Had a really scary incident yesterday. We were doing the Sunday morning breakfast in the lounge(used to be bedroom pre T) while reading newspapers ritual and I was sitting on the floor about to take my first sip of coffee. Thomas was occupying himself a few feet from me and husband was sitting on his little patch of rug eating and reading. Thomas sort of flitted between us — he’d walk up to us, give us a cuddle or kiss or just touch base and go back to what he was doing. He had just touched base with me and I thought he was back on his way to his toys so I lifted my STEAMING cup of coffee and prepared to take a sip. He decided to come back to me for some reason and sort of pounced on me. I knew that one of us was going to burn and as much as my survival instinct wanted it to not be me, my maternal instinct was a bajillion times stronger and I actually saw myself in slow motion turning the cup onto my chest (which was the ‘safest’ option). In that split second of NOOO I don’t want to burn and NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I don’t want my baby to burn I almost had an out of body experience… It’s really weird and powerful… Everything in my body told me not to turn the cup my way and I think my chest actually went as concave as concave can be — if I had no boobs I might not have burnt. But something way more urgent and I suppose primal overruled my body’s “I don’t want to burn” message and made me turn that cup onto me rather than having Thomas burn. I screamed like I don’t think I even screamed during labour and T got a huge fright but he was fine. Husband took care of T while I ran for the icepacks and cold shower. I’m fine – just shaken and a bit uncomfortable – wearing a very flimsy soft feeding bra today as the area’s a bit sensitive but we’ll be okay. Have any of you had a brush with the Maternal instinct?

18 thoughts on “Survival instinct vs Maternal instinct

  1. deblet

    Crickey that’s scary…hope your chest is back to normal soon.Can’t think of any life or death situations with my lot…foggy memory eldest is 14,there must have been some sometime.Have a great week

    Reply
  2. deblet

    Crickey that’s scary…hope your chest is back to normal soon.Can’t think of any life or death situations with my lot…foggy memory eldest is 14,there must have been some sometime.Have a great week

    Reply
  3. parent24ed

    Wow, that’s amazing, but well done, his skin would probably have suffered worse. I think you deserve a good mommy award!

    Reply
  4. parent24ed

    Wow, that’s amazing, but well done, his skin would probably have suffered worse. I think you deserve a good mommy award!

    Reply
  5. bothajs

    Wow! Incredible.Don’t know about maternal instinct, what I do know is that you CAN get from your side of the bed to the baby on the other side of the bedroom dangerously dancing on the dressing table in 0.1 second without pulling all the muscles in your body.

    Reply
  6. bothajs

    Wow! Incredible.Don’t know about maternal instinct, what I do know is that you CAN get from your side of the bed to the baby on the other side of the bedroom dangerously dancing on the dressing table in 0.1 second without pulling all the muscles in your body.

    Reply
  7. rochelle.barrish

    Yup – I think that falls under the maternal instinct category – no fear and a surge of adrenaline.

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    Yup – I think that falls under the maternal instinct category – no fear and a surge of adrenaline.

    Reply
  9. chanua

    Well done! Maternal instincts are overpowering. My hubby did an amazing move once going down the stairs with my son in his arms, his foot hooked and down they came, he spun around and he hit the ground pretty hard but our son was perfectly fine. He thought it was all a big game daddy was playing. Dad was pretty winded and achy all over. Paternal instinct! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. chanua

    Well done! Maternal instincts are overpowering. My hubby did an amazing move once going down the stairs with my son in his arms, his foot hooked and down they came, he spun around and he hit the ground pretty hard but our son was perfectly fine. He thought it was all a big game daddy was playing. Dad was pretty winded and achy all over. Paternal instinct! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

