Mommy, Barney dead!

A colleague just brought in a Barney doll for my son and I just had to share my Barney story with you. I was still happily single and took my nephew (then 3) to a Barney ‘do’ at Cavendish Mall. We were all squished into Dreyer street (the little road that runs between Cavendish and The Link) and Barney’s little makeshift podium was set up on the pavement. It was a hot day and Barney took his bleeding time to appear. When he finally appeared he greeted everybody and got onto his podium to start his schpiel. It was “I love you and you love me” for what felt like forever to my singleton ears. Next moment Barney disappeared and there was a hullabaloo. Turns out Barney got carried away and misjudged his step and fell off his podium. Which would’ve been ok if his head didn’t come rolling off the pavement into the crowd!!! The last thing I remember before panic and pandemonium descended was traumatised cries of “Mommeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Barney  dead!!” I took my nephew away from the pandemonium as I didn’t want my sister spending all her remaining med aid benefits on trauma counselling for her son. Wonder if any of the kids there that day had to go for post traumatic counselling or if Mommeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee was able to explain that this Barney is a human in a suit and that the ‘real’ Barney is still alive and well? Were any of you guys there that day?

32 thoughts on “Mommy, Barney dead!

  1. parent24ed

    Wahahahaha! Reminds me of my nephew’s song: I hate you, you hate me, let’s go out and kill Barney!’ He’s a church minister now…

    Reply
  2. parent24ed

    Wahahahaha! Reminds me of my nephew’s song: I hate you, you hate me, let’s go out and kill Barney!’ He’s a church minister now…

    Reply
  3. rochelle.barrish

    tee hee hee! Do you know the alternative Barney song? A colleague sings it every now and then but I only ever hear “no more purple dinosaur”

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    tee hee hee! Do you know the alternative Barney song? A colleague sings it every now and then but I only ever hear “no more purple dinosaur”

    Reply
  5. bothajs

    I am sooooo tired of Minki’s Barney singing I LOVE YOU, YOU LOVE ME I can happilly chop off HIS head.Kiddies don’t understand the “human in a suit” thing.(*sigh* – and there is the kazillion Barney DVDs as well)

    Reply
  6. bothajs

    I am sooooo tired of Minki’s Barney singing I LOVE YOU, YOU LOVE ME I can happilly chop off HIS head.Kiddies don’t understand the “human in a suit” thing.(*sigh* – and there is the kazillion Barney DVDs as well)

    Reply
  7. rochelle.barrish

    Well this Barney doll is Thomas’ first Barney exposure – I’ll make sure to avoid the Barney DVD aisle in shops.

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    Well this Barney doll is Thomas’ first Barney exposure – I’ll make sure to avoid the Barney DVD aisle in shops.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

