I feel cheated sometimes…

Just read an article by Sister Lilian on Parent24 re C-sections. Everytime I read an article about the Natural vs C-section debate, I feel sad. I SOOOO wanted to give birth naturally with a lot of pain relief of course, but I wanted to experience the primal ritual of pushing a new life into this world via your vajayjay. And even though I know that I really tried and that I could probably have gone a bit longer than the 17 hours I did and maybe Thomas would have finally decided to ‘engage’ I’m not sure it would’ve been a pleasant experience though. What if I endangered our lives by sticking to my guns, etc. Very rational. But then there’s the other bit that knows I’m not having another child and feels cheated and useless and like a complete and utter failure for ‘copping out’. I sometimes go to a really dark place about it and actually feel robbed and way sad. My funny side tells me that this is all because Thomas mostly sleeps through at night now (Yay for playschool and all the things they do that makes him pass out at 7 pm!!) and I have more time on my hands to think about crap like this. Anyone feel/felt that way?

60 thoughts on “I feel cheated sometimes…

  1. BabyFire

    I feel too many people dismiss these very valid feelings with platitudes… I do agree that a healthy baby is your main priority, but your birth experience is one you will remember for the rest of your life. it is no small event and the feelings around it should be respected as real and dealt with accordingly…. there are workshops built around a book called Birthing From Within which deal with inner healing and acceptance around our birth experiences – perhaps have a look into it. you are not a failure, and 17 hours of labour is nobody’s idea of copping out! *grin*

    Reply
  2. BabyFire

    I feel too many people dismiss these very valid feelings with platitudes… I do agree that a healthy baby is your main priority, but your birth experience is one you will remember for the rest of your life. it is no small event and the feelings around it should be respected as real and dealt with accordingly…. there are workshops built around a book called Birthing From Within which deal with inner healing and acceptance around our birth experiences – perhaps have a look into it. you are not a failure, and 17 hours of labour is nobody’s idea of copping out! *grin*

    Reply
  3. rochelle.barrish

    Thanks so much – will def follow up on this as I think I need to be ‘debriefed’ as they say in the CIA and FBI. You’re a star for understanding!

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    Thanks so much – will def follow up on this as I think I need to be ‘debriefed’ as they say in the CIA and FBI. You’re a star for understanding!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

