Gumtree trawling rant

OK – so I’m a Gumtree trawler! I’m on the site everyday and always looking for kiddie related gems. The Germans and other northern European nationals are the best. Their stuff’s always in immaculate condition and you’re guaranteed of quality. And of course there are the regulars who try to sell anything! My favourite is the breast pumps … only used once/used for 30 seconds/used for three bottles/whatever. If someone’s going to go on to a secondhand site for a breastpump it’s safe to assume that they’re cool with your breast having touched it at some time and as long as it’s clean and in good nick, it’s fine… no need to do the 30 seconds thing.

Another favourite is the huge items that are ‘unwanted gifts’. Now I don’t know about you but the people who bought me gifts all checked with me or someone who knows me if I need it and which brand I wanted… So I don’t see how someone can buy you an item worth R1 500 plus and it’s not what you want… I sense a lot of people have been flogging things because of the recession.

Another thing I cannot understand is if it looks like the dog’s bottom, why sell it? Even if you’re selling a car seat for R100! It’s unsafe, dirty and ancient. Why not just take it to a scrap dealer/recycler! Honestly! If the pram or seat is falling apart,what makes you think someone else wants to put their child in there? I just love looking at the shoddy things people are wanting to flog and I sincerely hope that nobody buys it from them. The only items I bought off Gumtree was a spare car seat for MIL to use if she needs to fetch T from school in emergencies and his Ikea bed, of course, from Betty the sweet ultra anal German.

Treehouse is another one… EVERYBODY buys Treehouse because of their excellent advertising and I suppose the status attached to their brand. Have you seen the amount of Treehouse furniture that’s being flogged? I so fell hook, line and sinker for their ads but I just could not justify paying R6k for a cot even if it becomes a bed and bench afterwards! And I wonder why no one on Gumtree keeps these fabulous cots that turns into beds and benches … Their kids are still small enough because the ad invariably reads … Treehouse sleigh cot for sale. Bought it a year ago for R6k and selling for R3k. So why is your one year old not sleeping in the cot or converted bed jol? Same with the compactums? They go for R4k to R5k – why not use it – it can be used as chest of drawers for ever? Is there some fundamental flaw with this furniture? I’m starting to worry… but then I’m also back to my recession theory. Once the afterglow of baby has worn off and you realise you’re sitting with nursery furniture worth R25k all in all… and the economy she’s biting… I’d probably also prob get rid of the status symbols and buy less expensive items. LOL!  I love Treehouse bedding and have been getting mine at the factory shop in Parow. Not many people are selling their Treehouse bedding so that must be a good sign about the bedding at least!

Another thing I’m trying to wrap my head around is the whole “we have a pram/cot/seat/baby carrier/potty/bumbo seat/etc to sell and here’s a pic of it next to the pool. WTH??? Why do I need to see the pram next to the pool? Do these people live in dungeons where there’s no natural light and the only light is around the pool or what? Or the potty for that matter? Is that supposed to look stylish? Or my other favourite is the baby slings/sleeping bags/clothes on the kitchen floor on the tiles… sommer net so — no blankie or towel… Huh? I once saw an ad for a potty — but it was only going to be available at the end of the month when her child was fully trained?! Huh? And for the princely sum of 25 South African Ronts!!! Why go through all the trouble to sell something for less than R50? Is the admin and calls and e-mails involved really worth it?

Another regular I’ve noticed is those plastic toddler beds. None of the beds are older than a few months. Surely people aren’t buying it at the end of their child’s toddler years? But I have seen these beds in the shop and they’re as flimsy as all hell. I suppose people see that it’s about to break and tries to flog it before it does… is that a nice thing to do though? ‘But what about voetstoots’, I hear you ask, is that really fair though, I ask? Knowing you’ve bought a lemon of a product and trying to flog it before it’s totally useless and try to get as much of your money back from an unsuspecting person? Shameless.

Another funny I noticed is the Discovery gift pack you get when you’re with Discovery Baby — people even flog that! The books and CDs — are you for real? Then they have the nerve to say unwanted gift! hahahaha — Discovery doesn’t really give it to you — you’ve paid for it over and over again what with their crappy MSA and limits on what they pay. So glad my Discovery days are over! Another very popular item is baby monitors. Every second item is a monitor! Isn’t that one of the items you sort of keep for at least three years? If your kid is in his own room, it’s nice to hear what he’s up to. Why sell a monitor after a year? Another theory of mine is that maybe people really get sucked into a 1001 things to buy for your new baby and realise that they’re not using half the stuff and decide to flog it!

Either way, I’m having fun on Gumtree. It’s my daily entertainment!

48 thoughts on “Gumtree trawling rant

  1. weebee

    oh my I’m also on there all the time and found some gems like duplo lego (got a bag full of winie the pooh and this mom and baby lego set once for R60)even got the app to search gumtree on my iphone! now if only i can blog from my phone!!!

    Reply
  2. weebee

    oh my I’m also on there all the time and found some gems like duplo lego (got a bag full of winie the pooh and this mom and baby lego set once for R60)even got the app to search gumtree on my iphone! now if only i can blog from my phone!!!

    Reply
  3. deids13

    I need to check this out, sound like it’s fun to browse through! I laughed at your remarks about the potty. Who is so desperate for R25 that they advertise it before the child is fully trained?!

    Reply
  4. deids13

    I need to check this out, sound like it’s fun to browse through! I laughed at your remarks about the potty. Who is so desperate for R25 that they advertise it before the child is fully trained?!

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    I’m glad I’m not the only 2nd hand trawler… Must be because I always got older cousins’ hand-me-downs!

    Reply
  6. rochelle.barrish

    I’m glad I’m not the only 2nd hand trawler… Must be because I always got older cousins’ hand-me-downs!

    Reply
  7. ludditelass

    You make Gumtree sound more entertaining than television! The only thing I ever bought on Gumtree was an ironing board cover. They were brand new and 1/4 the normal price. The lady I bought them from seemed to do this as a living – buying consignments of “fire-damaged” or closing down sale goods and selling them on Gumtree. Every room was full of stuff – garage was full of crockery, kitchen full of linen etc. Never been on since – blogging is enough of an addiction for me!

    Reply
  8. ludditelass

    You make Gumtree sound more entertaining than television! The only thing I ever bought on Gumtree was an ironing board cover. They were brand new and 1/4 the normal price. The lady I bought them from seemed to do this as a living – buying consignments of “fire-damaged” or closing down sale goods and selling them on Gumtree. Every room was full of stuff – garage was full of crockery, kitchen full of linen etc. Never been on since – blogging is enough of an addiction for me!

    Reply
  9. bernadette

    My friend was looking for a pet dog on Gumtree – sometimes those ads are more sad than funny.I must go have a look at the other stuff though πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. bernadette

    My friend was looking for a pet dog on Gumtree – sometimes those ads are more sad than funny.I must go have a look at the other stuff though πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. rochelle.barrish

    I stay away from the pet ads — I’d want to adopt all. Too sad. Really wish people would be more responsible re pet sterilisation.

    Reply
  12. rochelle.barrish

    I stay away from the pet ads — I’d want to adopt all. Too sad. Really wish people would be more responsible re pet sterilisation.

    Reply
  13. youunlimited

    Yeah also don’t get why you would sell something in horrid condition. Don’t get that. I’d be too embarressed

    Reply
  14. youunlimited

    Yeah also don’t get why you would sell something in horrid condition. Don’t get that. I’d be too embarressed

    Reply
  15. rochelle.barrish

    I know – it’s an extension of the ‘don’t wear broken/dirty broeks in case you have an accident’ our Moms always drilled in our heads as kids!

    Reply
  16. rochelle.barrish

    I know – it’s an extension of the ‘don’t wear broken/dirty broeks in case you have an accident’ our Moms always drilled in our heads as kids!

    Reply
  17. deblet

    You and my Hubie sould get together and compare notes,he LOVES Guntree and is forever buying genuine bargains…bought a PSP a week ago brand new for R400,guy won it in a golf competition

    Reply
  18. deblet

    You and my Hubie sould get together and compare notes,he LOVES Guntree and is forever buying genuine bargains…bought a PSP a week ago brand new for R400,guy won it in a golf competition

    Reply
  19. bothajs

    LOL! Funny post.I saw in the BikeSA once a girl wants to sell her R200K Harley motorbike – unwanted gift. “The bitch!” I thought.

    Reply
  20. bothajs

    LOL! Funny post.I saw in the BikeSA once a girl wants to sell her R200K Harley motorbike – unwanted gift. “The bitch!” I thought.

    Reply
  21. EEVD

    LOL, I have never bought anything on gumtree, but funny enough have been browsing through it last week as well! You realy get some funny stuff!

    Reply
  22. EEVD

    LOL, I have never bought anything on gumtree, but funny enough have been browsing through it last week as well! You realy get some funny stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

