Is it only a toy gun?

When DH and I first talked about being parents and what we wanted for our child and what we did not want one of the first things that cropped up was the toy gun thing. I have a thing about guns. Never liked them, especially as I’m a child of the Cape Flats who, up until the age of 18, had more than enough exposure to guns and what they do to a human body. Thomas’ cousins all have guns and when we’re with them I always make sure that Thomas doesn’t see it or that it stays in the toy barrels. We haven’t told our families that we don’t want them to buy guns for T but I think they’ve figured it out. Heard a news report yesterday that the spokeswoman for a gun free SA wants shops to remove guns from their shelves and I applaud them. Pick n Pay seems to be the only retailer so far who’ve adhered. I think we will tell our families this year that guns will not be allowed as toys/gifts.

My reasoning for not wanting T to have toy guns is obviously heavily influenced by my personal experience but how do you guys feel about the toy gun thing?

46 thoughts on “Is it only a toy gun?

  1. deblet

    Luckily for me it’s easy,girls are not so interested in having toy guns.But I get where you are comung from and after all my years at Conradie Hosp and dealing with gangs I’m not a gun supporter at all,most people end up shooting themselves or a loved one ‘by accident’

    Reply
  2. deblet

    Luckily for me it’s easy,girls are not so interested in having toy guns.But I get where you are comung from and after all my years at Conradie Hosp and dealing with gangs I’m not a gun supporter at all,most people end up shooting themselves or a loved one ‘by accident’

    Reply
  3. danile

    I am so for banning these toy guns! I think all the shops should just join in and get rid of them. I feel exactly the same way about fire crackers.

    Reply
  4. danile

    I am so for banning these toy guns! I think all the shops should just join in and get rid of them. I feel exactly the same way about fire crackers.

    Reply
  5. parent24ed

    I never bought my boys guns, although other people did. They went through a stage of pretend shooting each other, but can I honestly say it damaged them? Not really. I still hate the idea of toy guns, as I hate the idea of real ones.

    Reply
  6. parent24ed

    I never bought my boys guns, although other people did. They went through a stage of pretend shooting each other, but can I honestly say it damaged them? Not really. I still hate the idea of toy guns, as I hate the idea of real ones.

    Reply
  7. tania.roux

    We also don’t like guns, but BIL up north had his boy shooting animals with guns and crossbows since the age of 6. Not something I agree with, but hey.

    Reply
  8. tania.roux

    We also don’t like guns, but BIL up north had his boy shooting animals with guns and crossbows since the age of 6. Not something I agree with, but hey.

    Reply
  9. chanua

    I strongly dislike guns(toy or real). Although I don’t enforce it, our kids just seem to know. In my early twenties, I went out with a bunch of friends and was leaning nonchalantly against the front of the car chatting. Another friend(who owned a gun) was showing it to another friend, it went off and zoomed past my ear. All I felt was a flash of heat,scary as hell. Suffice to say I strongly dislike people with guns. 😦

    Reply
  10. chanua

    I strongly dislike guns(toy or real). Although I don’t enforce it, our kids just seem to know. In my early twenties, I went out with a bunch of friends and was leaning nonchalantly against the front of the car chatting. Another friend(who owned a gun) was showing it to another friend, it went off and zoomed past my ear. All I felt was a flash of heat,scary as hell. Suffice to say I strongly dislike people with guns. 😦

    Reply
  11. Sumanda

    I also didn’t like it at all, but once they grow up enough they choose for themselves what they want to play with. Rivan likes his guns, but will also happily play with a sword, etc. Tristan however is not that fussed with guns and prefers balls.

    Reply
  12. Sumanda

    I also didn’t like it at all, but once they grow up enough they choose for themselves what they want to play with. Rivan likes his guns, but will also happily play with a sword, etc. Tristan however is not that fussed with guns and prefers balls.

    Reply
  13. shazdart

    I have a phobia about guns and nothing that anyone can say to me can make them right. Those “toys” that are sold in the shops are just too realistic and are a tragedy waiting to happen in my opinion.Yay for PnP. xx

    Reply
  14. shazdart

    I have a phobia about guns and nothing that anyone can say to me can make them right. Those “toys” that are sold in the shops are just too realistic and are a tragedy waiting to happen in my opinion.Yay for PnP. xx

    Reply
  15. rochelle.barrish

    Ooh yes fire crackers. A friend who works at Red Cross has told me all about what fire crackers does to little people!

    Reply
  16. rochelle.barrish

    Ooh yes fire crackers. A friend who works at Red Cross has told me all about what fire crackers does to little people!

    Reply
  17. rochelle.barrish

    I think the kind of house they are brought up in and the parents also have a lot to do with it. I actually cannot see your boys being obnoxious and violent, ever.

    Reply
  18. rochelle.barrish

    I think the kind of house they are brought up in and the parents also have a lot to do with it. I actually cannot see your boys being obnoxious and violent, ever.

    Reply
  19. rochelle.barrish

    Yikes – same with me – remember the whoosh and the heat as if it were yesterday! That was the only time besides giving birth when I heard myself making noises that I couldn’t reconcile with me… I was like: who’s that screaming “MOMMY!”?

    Reply
  20. rochelle.barrish

    Yikes – same with me – remember the whoosh and the heat as if it were yesterday! That was the only time besides giving birth when I heard myself making noises that I couldn’t reconcile with me… I was like: who’s that screaming “MOMMY!”?

    Reply
  21. bothajs

    I have various firearm licences and own various firearms. In the line of my employment it is a neccessity and I used to hunt with my stepdad. Chanua’s friend’s firearm did not go off all by itself, the friend discharged it, do not blame the gun when in the hands of incompetent people.I would not mind people buying my child a toy gun, but am hesitant to buy one for other people’s children, not knowing what their views are.Rather ban toy cars, more people die in motorvehicle accidents anyway.

    Reply
  22. bothajs

    I have various firearm licences and own various firearms. In the line of my employment it is a neccessity and I used to hunt with my stepdad. Chanua’s friend’s firearm did not go off all by itself, the friend discharged it, do not blame the gun when in the hands of incompetent people.I would not mind people buying my child a toy gun, but am hesitant to buy one for other people’s children, not knowing what their views are.Rather ban toy cars, more people die in motorvehicle accidents anyway.

    Reply
  23. rochelle.barrish

    I of course am not totally blinded by my hang-ups and know that guns (the real thing) is needed in society unfortunately. Heck, my father had us all shooting as soon as we were able to handle a gun because of the day and age we live in. So am not attacking gun owners just want my little man to not get into the culture of waving a gun around (thanks to some cartoons, games and movies — and ‘shooting’ people before he has a little bit more ‘verstand’ and understand things better.

    Reply
  24. rochelle.barrish

    I of course am not totally blinded by my hang-ups and know that guns (the real thing) is needed in society unfortunately. Heck, my father had us all shooting as soon as we were able to handle a gun because of the day and age we live in. So am not attacking gun owners just want my little man to not get into the culture of waving a gun around (thanks to some cartoons, games and movies — and ‘shooting’ people before he has a little bit more ‘verstand’ and understand things better.

    Reply
  25. durbandiva

    Mine are getting BB guns for xmas – requested on their lists. They have pellet guns at their grandfathers and are being taught correct care, maintenance and shooting skills. The only guns I have ever bought until now are water guns which I buy every xmas because they are loads of fun. When all the toy guns are broken they make lego guns or stick guns. They play armies all the time. They also play army computer games. They watch movies with guns. They are fully aware that real guns [BB and pellet included] are dangerous and not to be shot at people only targets. I think its impossible to protect kids from guns forever, especially as they go to school and friends. I would rather they be informed and well versed in the safety aspects.

    Reply
  26. durbandiva

    Mine are getting BB guns for xmas – requested on their lists. They have pellet guns at their grandfathers and are being taught correct care, maintenance and shooting skills. The only guns I have ever bought until now are water guns which I buy every xmas because they are loads of fun. When all the toy guns are broken they make lego guns or stick guns. They play armies all the time. They also play army computer games. They watch movies with guns. They are fully aware that real guns [BB and pellet included] are dangerous and not to be shot at people only targets. I think its impossible to protect kids from guns forever, especially as they go to school and friends. I would rather they be informed and well versed in the safety aspects.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

