Boys have a penis and girls have a ? penis.

Thomas knows what a penis is. If you ask him where it is he will point and as soon as the nappy comes off he points, says penis and sometimes takes a quick tug (!boys will be boys!) for good measure. There are times when he comes with me to the loo and of course sees my ‘penis’. Been trying to tell him that it’s a vagina but he’s not interested in the long v-word for now. So until he can wrap his head around the v-word, this Mama is going to be running around with a ‘penis’. Hope he can say the v-word by the time he can talk properly. Would hate to hear from other Mommies that I have a ‘penis’.

On another note – a friend of mine who lives in the States is pregnant with her fourth child and as they were getting ready to tuck the three girls into bed the other night, she told the girls that she wasn’t sure how the storytelling would work once the baby is there as well. Her eldest (7) said maybe Mommy can read to two and Daddy can read to two. Her middle kid (4) then piped up and said that would work only if Daddy stopped giving Mommy special baby seed!LOL! Apparently they told their kids that God gives Daddy special baby seed that he then in turn gives to Mommy (they haven’t covered the method of giving yet!) and that is where babies come from.

Have no clue as to what we will tell T but I want to stick to the truth as much as possible. Things aren’t the way they were when we were growing up and kids needs to know the facts and best that it comes from their parents. How will you or have you handled the sex talk?

40 thoughts on “Boys have a penis and girls have a ? penis.

  1. rochelle.barrish

    Hey, love the party hat, birthday gal! hahaha – my colleagues have already offered to take my story to said mag!

    Reply
  2. rochelle.barrish

    Hey, love the party hat, birthday gal! hahaha – my colleagues have already offered to take my story to said mag!

    Reply
  3. youunlimited

    Lol at your Penis! Re the Sex talk, state the truth as soon as they ask the question. It just becomes a matter of course then. No giggles and stories – so much easier. Of course I had 8years practice when teaching so just did the same with Tash.

    Reply
  4. youunlimited

    Lol at your Penis! Re the Sex talk, state the truth as soon as they ask the question. It just becomes a matter of course then. No giggles and stories – so much easier. Of course I had 8years practice when teaching so just did the same with Tash.

    Reply
  5. tania.roux

    I think I would do it straight up. I must confess, we do talk about “tottie” and “koekie”. Mmmm, maybe I need to reconsider..

    Reply
  6. tania.roux

    I think I would do it straight up. I must confess, we do talk about “tottie” and “koekie”. Mmmm, maybe I need to reconsider..

    Reply
  7. ludditelass

    LOL! I’ve also been asked where my penis is. As for the sex talk, D still believes making babies involves flying is aeroplanes and going to airports (that’s what happened when we fetched his brother). When I told him that a pregnant friend was still waiting for her baby to be born, he asked with great concern: “Is she still at the airport?”

    Reply
  8. ludditelass

    LOL! I’ve also been asked where my penis is. As for the sex talk, D still believes making babies involves flying is aeroplanes and going to airports (that’s what happened when we fetched his brother). When I told him that a pregnant friend was still waiting for her baby to be born, he asked with great concern: “Is she still at the airport?”

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    Hmmm – I was also told to steer clear of yayas and winkys and cookies. But it’s not easy playing it as it lands when it’s your innocent baby!

    Reply
  10. rochelle.barrish

    Hmmm – I was also told to steer clear of yayas and winkys and cookies. But it’s not easy playing it as it lands when it’s your innocent baby!

    Reply
  11. rochelle.barrish

    LOL at the airport! We were told the mountain – I remember whenever we went up Table Mountain as a kid I’d keep an eye out for babies waiting for their mommies to fetch them!

    Reply
  12. rochelle.barrish

    LOL at the airport! We were told the mountain – I remember whenever we went up Table Mountain as a kid I’d keep an eye out for babies waiting for their mommies to fetch them!

    Reply
  13. EEVD

    Oh the innocense!Can you imagine the skinnering that will take place once everyone is told you have a penis? LOL!I like the baby seed story, as it is close enough to still be the truth!

    Reply
  14. EEVD

    Oh the innocense!Can you imagine the skinnering that will take place once everyone is told you have a penis? LOL!I like the baby seed story, as it is close enough to still be the truth!

    Reply
  15. nusha

    lol πŸ™‚ a friends son once told his aunt over the phone that “mummy is playing with her penis” πŸ™‚ she was just changing his nappy but you can imagine the hysterics the aunt was in when my friend took the phone away from the LO πŸ™‚ kids DO say the darndest things

    Reply
  16. nusha

    lol πŸ™‚ a friends son once told his aunt over the phone that “mummy is playing with her penis” πŸ™‚ she was just changing his nappy but you can imagine the hysterics the aunt was in when my friend took the phone away from the LO πŸ™‚ kids DO say the darndest things

    Reply
  17. Lavaman

    Very good. But thought you ladies would know your bits by their proper name. External — pudenda, Internal — vagina

    Reply
  18. Lavaman

    Very good. But thought you ladies would know your bits by their proper name. External — pudenda, Internal — vagina

    Reply
  19. rochelle.barrish

    Oh dear – back to biology class for us then. But I would think 9 months of pregnancy and all it’s attendant horrors, hours of contractions, vaginal birth, major abdominal surgery and a lifetime of having your heart run around outside your body would cut us some slack and allow us to call it whatever makes us happy? No?

    Reply
  20. rochelle.barrish

    Oh dear – back to biology class for us then. But I would think 9 months of pregnancy and all it’s attendant horrors, hours of contractions, vaginal birth, major abdominal surgery and a lifetime of having your heart run around outside your body would cut us some slack and allow us to call it whatever makes us happy? No?

    Reply
  21. rebeccav

    I was told all the gory details at age 5. All the correct terminology, but my mom was a midwife! I even got shown the pictures :0Tristan calls his penis his “tottie”, and mommy has a “flower”. Imagine my horror when, at age 3, he came home from creche and told me he’d seen Michaela’s flower! The following week, he took my hand, pointed to an embroidered patch on Michaela’s jeans, and said “See! Michaela’s flower”! Really must get my mind out the gutter :DHe hasn’t asked much about where babies come from – but he knows they grow inside mommies. That talk is coming soon! And I’ll probably just tell him the basic facts – not all the nitty gritty bits πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  22. rebeccav

    I was told all the gory details at age 5. All the correct terminology, but my mom was a midwife! I even got shown the pictures :0Tristan calls his penis his “tottie”, and mommy has a “flower”. Imagine my horror when, at age 3, he came home from creche and told me he’d seen Michaela’s flower! The following week, he took my hand, pointed to an embroidered patch on Michaela’s jeans, and said “See! Michaela’s flower”! Really must get my mind out the gutter :DHe hasn’t asked much about where babies come from – but he knows they grow inside mommies. That talk is coming soon! And I’ll probably just tell him the basic facts – not all the nitty gritty bits πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

