Once a fatty always a fatty/ Poppiedik sal maar altyd dik wees?

Warning – a feeling sorry for myself post (yup, PMSing at the moment)

I’ve always been big-boned, too short for my weight etc. Have battled the bulge since the onset of puberty. But once I left my twenties behind I sort of made peace with it and decided to love my body. I met husband when I was 28 and although I was still insecure then, I was being loved by a hottie and was glowing.

Once Thomas arrived there was no time for body issues as there was the ‘baby issue’ to take care of. I must admit I also chilled out a lot after Thomas as I was in awe of what my body had done. I’m mostly at peace with my rolls and stretchmarks that look like fishmoths – they’re so pale and grey! But every now and then something happens that takes me right back to the tween who was being teased at junior school, the teen who was made to feel revolting because she didn’t conform to what hormonal teen boys thought was hot and the young woman who felt like a whale because she didn’t look like a Cosmo girl. Why is it that no matter how successful, happy and fulfilled you are – that little bullied/teased child from your childhood always makes an appearance and wrecks the party?

That something happened last week and I’m still feeling funny about it. Will obviously build a bridge and get over it like I’ve learnt to do but I just needed to tell someone. Thanks for listening.

22 thoughts on “Once a fatty always a fatty/ Poppiedik sal maar altyd dik wees?

  1. EEVD

    I think for some of us, no matter how you have made peace with it, it will always be an ongoing battle.I sometime’s wish that for just one day I could see myself the way my Husband do -as he find my sexy and irresistable – wish I could see that looking in the mirror!Don’t let it define who you are, you are more than what you look like!

    Reply
  2. EEVD

    I think for some of us, no matter how you have made peace with it, it will always be an ongoing battle.I sometime’s wish that for just one day I could see myself the way my Husband do -as he find my sexy and irresistable – wish I could see that looking in the mirror!Don’t let it define who you are, you are more than what you look like!

    Reply
  3. rebeccav

    I hate the insecure feeling! Feel like this most days when I drop the boys at school/daycare! Some days are worse than others. I’ve battled with my weight since I was 5 years old. And I’m only starting to accept me for the way I am now that I’m in my 30’s (pushing 40’s eeeeek!). Mind you, if I could lose another 10kg’s, I’d be happier πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. rebeccav

    I hate the insecure feeling! Feel like this most days when I drop the boys at school/daycare! Some days are worse than others. I’ve battled with my weight since I was 5 years old. And I’m only starting to accept me for the way I am now that I’m in my 30’s (pushing 40’s eeeeek!). Mind you, if I could lose another 10kg’s, I’d be happier πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. coyote13

    I soooooooo get what you saying.. I need to lose 35kg’s to get to healthy weight. What irritates me most is that I managed to do that 2 years ago then just let it all pile back on… YUK

    Reply
  6. coyote13

    I soooooooo get what you saying.. I need to lose 35kg’s to get to healthy weight. What irritates me most is that I managed to do that 2 years ago then just let it all pile back on… YUK

    Reply
  7. tania.roux

    Please send me the details of that bully, I’ll sort them out in no time! GrrrrLOL, maybe we can compare fishmoths soon πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. tania.roux

    Please send me the details of that bully, I’ll sort them out in no time! GrrrrLOL, maybe we can compare fishmoths soon πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. youunlimited

    hmmph, me too. We need to tell the little girl inside us that we are okay just the way we are. Not as easy as it sounds though

    Reply
  10. youunlimited

    hmmph, me too. We need to tell the little girl inside us that we are okay just the way we are. Not as easy as it sounds though

    Reply

Leave a Reply

