Christmas pressures mean divorce in January so beware January 8

A study has shown that January 8th  is the busiest day of the year for divorce lawyers when up to one in five couples will enquire about divorce after the pressures of Christmas. The enforced intimacy of Christmas, coupled with the start of a new year is thought to be the main trigger. 

Just read this and it scared the crap out of me. I decided to not do the Christmas lunch with the outlaws this year as it is just too stressful and really not worth my sanity. We therefore had a really good Christmas with a good friend. Just us. No politics and family grudges — just good old fun. But there were times when my irritation levels got out of hand and I was a mean old cow (all work stress) — all things a stable happy marriage can and should cope with, right? Except it got me thinking… how many Christmases can and will my happy stable marriage cope with before I also end up at a divorce lawyer on 8 January? What can I do to minimise the stress and irritation levels during this time? How many Christmases of being screeched at by a mean old cow will my DH tolerate before he does an 8th of January?

Yikes! I have resolved to be a nicer person at home over December and rather screech at the people I should be screeching at (journos at work who are late with delivering their copy and causing me to work well into the night almost every night) than my sweet family!

So here’s to a nicer, calmer, gentler me come Christmas 2010. I so don’t want to be a January 8 special.

Pic of Lord Muck ‘doing lunch’ days before Christmas.

I also found this really odd gift idea. Divorce vouchers! It reads:

Need a gift idea for that couple next door that never seems to stop arguing and fighting? A London, England law firm has come up with a gift idea for unhappy couples – divorce vouchers.

With the United Kingdom having one of the highest divorce rates in the world, it was only a matter of time before lawyers started looking at ways to lure in unhappy couples. The London law firm, Lloyd Platt & Company is now offering vouchers to couples for half-hour or hour-long advice sessions with a lawyer. According to Reuters, the law firm normally charges about $530 per hour long session with a lawyer but the vouchers run at approximately $200 for a half-hour session. The company has reportedly sold 60 of the vouchers since the start of the offer three weeks ago. In an interview with the Telegraph, senior partner Vanessa Lloyd Platt said, “Christmas can be a very stressful time for families as we have always seen by the huge increase of people seeking advice in January. The vouchers seem to appeal to an enormously wide spread spectrum of people looking for that ‘must have’ gift for Christmas.”
I know a couple of people who could do with these vouchers!
16 thoughts on “Christmas pressures mean divorce in January so beware January 8

  1. Jwebber

    Thank goodness I’m at work for this period then. I definitely wouldn’t want an 08 January statistic. I’m also not too good during December. It’s like my inner biatch that I’ve suppressed during the year just shows up with festive cheer and all.Love the pics of Lord Muck..xx

    Reply
  2. Jwebber

    Thank goodness I’m at work for this period then. I definitely wouldn’t want an 08 January statistic. I’m also not too good during December. It’s like my inner biatch that I’ve suppressed during the year just shows up with festive cheer and all.Love the pics of Lord Muck..xx

    Reply
  3. rochelle.barrish

    Yes now I know why some people insist on working at this time. A colleague of mine said he HAS to work in December and when we asked him why he said “Because my wife is at home!”

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    Yes now I know why some people insist on working at this time. A colleague of mine said he HAS to work in December and when we asked him why he said “Because my wife is at home!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

