Sorry but I had to wait for payday to send my child to school.

Just read this in the Sunday Times. Yikes! Apparently schools across the country have been battling with absenteeism due to parents not being able to buy uniforms/stationery and rather keeping kids at home to save them embarrassment! Sheesh – things are really bad out there. They also quoted a township principal who said a lot of kids are still stuck in the Eastern Cape and other ancestral homes because their parents don’t have the bus/taxi fare needed to get them back to the cities and will only have it come payday.

Some principals said that they’d rather have the kids at school as is than have them miss out on three weeks worth of work all because Mommy and Daddy didn’t plan properly or just don’t have the means.

I know of at least two families who went all out in the festive season and had to beg, borrow (and hopefully not steal) for uniforms,etc.

Scary stuff.

33 thoughts on “Sorry but I had to wait for payday to send my child to school.

  1. noboundaries

    I saw that. It’s just terrible. Why don’t they lower the school fees? So many people struggle at the moment. Here in Durbanville and Brackenfell some of the school fees is R1 000.00 per month. ie. Durbanville High School is R1 200.00 per child! How do you manage if say the dad is retrenched or even if the parents just earn middle class income?

    Reply
  2. noboundaries

    I saw that. It’s just terrible. Why don’t they lower the school fees? So many people struggle at the moment. Here in Durbanville and Brackenfell some of the school fees is R1 000.00 per month. ie. Durbanville High School is R1 200.00 per child! How do you manage if say the dad is retrenched or even if the parents just earn middle class income?

    Reply
  3. ebonyandivory

    It’s really hectic!! I was almost in that boat too, but luckily Angel is not in big school yet… I would have beenbuying her school uniform etc even before Christmas. lol. Ai I feel so bad for these kids, and parents!!

    Reply
  4. ebonyandivory

    It’s really hectic!! I was almost in that boat too, but luckily Angel is not in big school yet… I would have beenbuying her school uniform etc even before Christmas. lol. Ai I feel so bad for these kids, and parents!!

    Reply
  5. parent24ed

    Parents are entitled to apply for a partial or total exemptionon school fees. But it’s the extras that are the killer: uniforms, books, takkies etc

    Reply
  6. parent24ed

    Parents are entitled to apply for a partial or total exemptionon school fees. But it’s the extras that are the killer: uniforms, books, takkies etc

    Reply
  7. rebeccav

    Sjoe that is scary! I’d also say let the kids just come as they are if it were a uniform issue. But the ones that are stuck because of transport – what a disaster! Shame, poor kids!(Wish I could use that excuse on the 25th to miss work – cos I don’t have bux for petrol)!

    Reply
  8. rebeccav

    Sjoe that is scary! I’d also say let the kids just come as they are if it were a uniform issue. But the ones that are stuck because of transport – what a disaster! Shame, poor kids!(Wish I could use that excuse on the 25th to miss work – cos I don’t have bux for petrol)!

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    It is really sad. I now know why I sometimes got half my school stuff even before Christmas as a kid! Thought it was the most daftest thing to do.

    Reply
  10. rochelle.barrish

    I also read that some schools are govenrment sanctioned no-fee schools but they still try to charge anyway.

    Reply
  11. drugtesting

    In short, WE SHOULD NOT BE HAVING TO PAY FOR SCHOOL FEES at all, and kids to should be given their things to use at school, stationery, school books including the text books……………Its a problem in this country, but as my husband always says, you cannot control an educated nation.

    Reply
  12. rosiecheer

    The academic school year should run from September to September. That way parents don’t have to deal with expensive holidays, Christmas and back to school budget blues all at the same time. Our stationery pack alone this year was R1 600!

    Reply
  13. bothajs

    The “no money for transport/petrol” line are being used on a regular basis by some of my fellow inmates, ag uhm, I mean workers.

    Reply
  14. bothajs

    The “no money for transport/petrol” line are being used on a regular basis by some of my fellow inmates, ag uhm, I mean workers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

