My lowest low in childhood was when…

I ‘rescued’ frogs out of a stream running by my Ouma’s house. There were seven of them and I managed to ‘rescue’ four. I took them to Ouma’s bathroom, used my precious Shipmate bubble bath and washed them in warm soapy water as Mom taught me that was the best way to get rid of mud. I then put the clean frogs on the window sill and watched them dry. What I didn’t know was that a) they weren’t busy drying, they were busy dying and b) my Ouma was very fond of them and actually kept track of them in her own little way. I was my Ouma’s favourite and up until that day I had never made her angry and she’d never needed to scold me. I got the scolding of my life that day and I felt so ashamed, I wanted to die. I remember even harbouring thoughts of going to the big canal (forbidden territory) so that the bad men I was warned about could come there and steal me as I was feeling very unloved. What’s your most shameful day?

42 thoughts on “My lowest low in childhood was when…

  1. cazzieb

    aaaaah shame!!!!i remember that feeling so well as a kid, knowing you have buggered up royally, but not understanding why (after all, your intentions were good!)

    Reply
  2. cazzieb

    aaaaah shame!!!!i remember that feeling so well as a kid, knowing you have buggered up royally, but not understanding why (after all, your intentions were good!)

    Reply
  3. bothajs

    I was not so little anymore, maybe 13 or 14. Every Friday my Dad would take his farm workers’ pay packets (he rented a small farm were he produced veggies as a hobby) and some food parcels out to the farm. On this day both my parents were running late, Dad asked Mom to pack the food parcels, ready for him to just stop and pick up, Mom delegated the job to me. I forgot.Dad was mad, and my mom said to me in all of 20 years that they’ve known each other, he never shouted at her till that day, and I made him do that. She was crying. I will NEVER forget how sad she was.

    Reply
  4. bothajs

    I was not so little anymore, maybe 13 or 14. Every Friday my Dad would take his farm workers’ pay packets (he rented a small farm were he produced veggies as a hobby) and some food parcels out to the farm. On this day both my parents were running late, Dad asked Mom to pack the food parcels, ready for him to just stop and pick up, Mom delegated the job to me. I forgot.Dad was mad, and my mom said to me in all of 20 years that they’ve known each other, he never shouted at her till that day, and I made him do that. She was crying. I will NEVER forget how sad she was.

    Reply
  5. ebonyandivory

    The only one I can think of now it this. My dad gave my younger brother an old roll-on, there were still stuff inside, I was so jealous. Why didnt I get one? I grabbed the roll-on from my bro and ran outside, I wanted to hide it, because if I could not have it neither could he, I fevereshly looked for a good hiding place as bro was chasing me, I saw a gutter pipe from the roof and quickly stuck the thing in there. Next minute I was stung by bees! Mom and dad scolded me for being jealous, and of course brother ran off with his roll-on. I felt such a jerk! Jealousy was no good. And it was just a stupid roll-on after all!

    Reply
  6. ebonyandivory

    The only one I can think of now it this. My dad gave my younger brother an old roll-on, there were still stuff inside, I was so jealous. Why didnt I get one? I grabbed the roll-on from my bro and ran outside, I wanted to hide it, because if I could not have it neither could he, I fevereshly looked for a good hiding place as bro was chasing me, I saw a gutter pipe from the roof and quickly stuck the thing in there. Next minute I was stung by bees! Mom and dad scolded me for being jealous, and of course brother ran off with his roll-on. I felt such a jerk! Jealousy was no good. And it was just a stupid roll-on after all!

    Reply
  7. rebeccav

    Oh you poor girl! This kind of story ends up in therapy years later! I remember pushing a little boy called Ronnie (neighbourhood bully)into a rose bush because he knocked a banana out of my hand. He was cut and scratched from head to toe, so I ran home and hid in my bedroom. I felt terrible. Then his mom came to our house, and my mom answered the door, listened to what had happened, and packed up laughing saying he deserved it! My shame was short-lived! My mom actually rewarded me for standing up to that little sh1t πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. rebeccav

    Oh you poor girl! This kind of story ends up in therapy years later! I remember pushing a little boy called Ronnie (neighbourhood bully)into a rose bush because he knocked a banana out of my hand. He was cut and scratched from head to toe, so I ran home and hid in my bedroom. I felt terrible. Then his mom came to our house, and my mom answered the door, listened to what had happened, and packed up laughing saying he deserved it! My shame was short-lived! My mom actually rewarded me for standing up to that little sh1t πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. ludditelass

    How awful for you and you were just trying to be kind to the frogs. My most shameful day was when I was about two and was staying on the farm with my paternal grandparents. The farmhouse had a long wooden passage that sloped slightly and I used to have great fun sliding along it on my cloth-nappied bum. My constant companion, Fred the Border Collie, also seemed to want to slide (in my mind) but couldn’t manage. I had seen what the farmworkers and my Papa (Grandpa) did when things didn’t slide properly so I helped Fred by pouring oil in and on his bum. Oi vay!

    Reply
  10. ludditelass

    How awful for you and you were just trying to be kind to the frogs. My most shameful day was when I was about two and was staying on the farm with my paternal grandparents. The farmhouse had a long wooden passage that sloped slightly and I used to have great fun sliding along it on my cloth-nappied bum. My constant companion, Fred the Border Collie, also seemed to want to slide (in my mind) but couldn’t manage. I had seen what the farmworkers and my Papa (Grandpa) did when things didn’t slide properly so I helped Fred by pouring oil in and on his bum. Oi vay!

    Reply
  11. rochelle.barrish

    Hey your mom sounds cool! I was always the one getting it if any one’s mom came to complain! Believe me it came up in therapy!

    Reply
  12. rochelle.barrish

    Hey your mom sounds cool! I was always the one getting it if any one’s mom came to complain! Believe me it came up in therapy!

    Reply
  13. Sumanda

    Not most shameful, but definitely a BIG remembered day: The day my mom forgot me at a restaurant in a different city…I was 8 years old. You want the whole story?

    Reply
  14. Sumanda

    Not most shameful, but definitely a BIG remembered day: The day my mom forgot me at a restaurant in a different city…I was 8 years old. You want the whole story?

    Reply
  15. youunlimited

    I know the end of the story made you feel shameful but the logic of your little mind was just too delightful. It made me smile that part – washing mud off with shipmate ;-)Too tired to remember a day

    Reply
  16. youunlimited

    I know the end of the story made you feel shameful but the logic of your little mind was just too delightful. It made me smile that part – washing mud off with shipmate ;-)Too tired to remember a day

    Reply
  17. rochelle.barrish

    LOL! Yes – and whenever we have family gatherings they haul out that story — yup and my dad mentioned it in his father-of-the-bride speech at my wedding!

    Reply
  18. rochelle.barrish

    LOL! Yes – and whenever we have family gatherings they haul out that story — yup and my dad mentioned it in his father-of-the-bride speech at my wedding!

    Reply
  19. youunlimited

    I remembered a story – not so much from my childhood but its a family story that is often brought up. It happened about 10 years ago at a big family Xmas where my uncle had made a wonderful salad and I decided just before lunch to toss it and get the feta, olives and other yummies shared.Well my uncle had an apaplexy (however you spell that) as he had apparently carefully layered the salad so everyone would have yummy bits. I’ve never lived it down. Whenever there is a salad out someone will shout “Protect the salad, Cams here”

    Reply
  20. youunlimited

    I remembered a story – not so much from my childhood but its a family story that is often brought up. It happened about 10 years ago at a big family Xmas where my uncle had made a wonderful salad and I decided just before lunch to toss it and get the feta, olives and other yummies shared.Well my uncle had an apaplexy (however you spell that) as he had apparently carefully layered the salad so everyone would have yummy bits. I’ve never lived it down. Whenever there is a salad out someone will shout “Protect the salad, Cams here”

    Reply
  21. youunlimited

    I remembered a story – not so much from my childhood but its a family story that is often brought up. It happened about 10 years ago at a big family Xmas where my uncle had made a wonderful salad and I decided just before lunch to toss it and get the feta, olives and other yummies shared.Well my uncle had an apaplexy (however you spell that) as he had apparently carefully layered the salad so everyone would have yummy bits. I’ve never lived it down. Whenever there is a salad out someone will shout “Protect the salad, Cams here”

    Reply
  22. youunlimited

    I remembered a story – not so much from my childhood but its a family story that is often brought up. It happened about 10 years ago at a big family Xmas where my uncle had made a wonderful salad and I decided just before lunch to toss it and get the feta, olives and other yummies shared.Well my uncle had an apaplexy (however you spell that) as he had apparently carefully layered the salad so everyone would have yummy bits. I’ve never lived it down. Whenever there is a salad out someone will shout “Protect the salad, Cams here”

    Reply
  23. youunlimited

    I remembered a story – not so much from my childhood but its a family story that is often brought up. It happened about 10 years ago at a big family Xmas where my uncle had made a wonderful salad and I decided just before lunch to toss it and get the feta, olives and other yummies shared.Well my uncle had an apaplexy (however you spell that) as he had apparently carefully layered the salad so everyone would have yummy bits. I’ve never lived it down. Whenever there is a salad out someone will shout “Protect the salad, Cams here”

    Reply
  24. youunlimited

    I remembered a story – not so much from my childhood but its a family story that is often brought up. It happened about 10 years ago at a big family Xmas where my uncle had made a wonderful salad and I decided just before lunch to toss it and get the feta, olives and other yummies shared.Well my uncle had an apaplexy (however you spell that) as he had apparently carefully layered the salad so everyone would have yummy bits. I’ve never lived it down. Whenever there is a salad out someone will shout “Protect the salad, Cams here”

    Reply
  25. rochelle.barrish

    Tee hee hee! Oops. Will def watch the saladd when you’re around from now on. Totally get your uncle’s fit.

    Reply
  26. rochelle.barrish

    Tee hee hee! Oops. Will def watch the saladd when you’re around from now on. Totally get your uncle’s fit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

