Wedding frocks.

Seeing Deb’s wedding pics (I dunno how to do that link to other blogs thing) and Cams talking about the fashion in the ’90s… made me think of veddinks. My biggest regret was that my Mom rented her dress so there was no dress to be handed down which was made even sadder by her absence. My MIL gave me her dress and I used bits of  it on my train and used bits for our ring pillow – I then used the rest as Thomas’ christening jumpsuit. Did any of you use your Mom’s dress or bits of it or is that too old-fashioned? And are any of you dreaming of your daughters/daughters-in-law using your dresses?

48 thoughts on “Wedding frocks.

  1. shazdart

    My Mum’s dress was also a borrowed one, very beautiful.I didn’t get married in church so I just had a nice suit/outfit thing. Glad now that I didn’t go the whole hog.I really would like the whole white wedding thingy for Jess, then I can buy her a dress that she can keep and start her own traditions. xxxx

    Reply
  2. shazdart

    My Mum’s dress was also a borrowed one, very beautiful.I didn’t get married in church so I just had a nice suit/outfit thing. Glad now that I didn’t go the whole hog.I really would like the whole white wedding thingy for Jess, then I can buy her a dress that she can keep and start her own traditions. xxxx

    Reply
  3. rebeccav

    My mom left her dress in the UK when we emigrated 26 years ago! Not that I would have fit into it / wanted to wear it! I bought my own dress, which hangs in my cupboard gathering dust (it is covered). Since we don’t have girls, I suppose I could sell it! I wouldn’t want my future daughter in law to feel obliged to wear it!

    Reply
  4. rebeccav

    My mom left her dress in the UK when we emigrated 26 years ago! Not that I would have fit into it / wanted to wear it! I bought my own dress, which hangs in my cupboard gathering dust (it is covered). Since we don’t have girls, I suppose I could sell it! I wouldn’t want my future daughter in law to feel obliged to wear it!

    Reply
  5. nusha

    nope no dress here at all … we were married in a traditional Catholic wedding in church but we both wore traditional Indian wedding gear (me in a sari and hubby in traditional groom gear) Even bridesmaids wore saris … was great to incorporate our culture into the Catholic mass πŸ™‚ My mum still has her wedding sari but i got my own which I still have. Will keep it but won’t force the munchkin to wear it … maybe she can use bits of it like you did πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. nusha

    nope no dress here at all … we were married in a traditional Catholic wedding in church but we both wore traditional Indian wedding gear (me in a sari and hubby in traditional groom gear) Even bridesmaids wore saris … was great to incorporate our culture into the Catholic mass πŸ™‚ My mum still has her wedding sari but i got my own which I still have. Will keep it but won’t force the munchkin to wear it … maybe she can use bits of it like you did πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. deids13

    My mom had a very casual wedding so her dress was just a white day-dress. I was ridiculously skinny for my wedding and I wouldn’t want to put that kind of pressure on my child to get that skinny for her wedding! I do have the dress still, she can do with it what she likes.

    Reply
  8. deids13

    My mom had a very casual wedding so her dress was just a white day-dress. I was ridiculously skinny for my wedding and I wouldn’t want to put that kind of pressure on my child to get that skinny for her wedding! I do have the dress still, she can do with it what she likes.

    Reply
  9. EEVD

    I am about 20cm taller than my mother, so even if she still had her dress, I would not have fitted in it.But I am hoping on using the material of my dress, to make a christening dress for our little girl one day.

    Reply
  10. EEVD

    I am about 20cm taller than my mother, so even if she still had her dress, I would not have fitted in it.But I am hoping on using the material of my dress, to make a christening dress for our little girl one day.

    Reply
  11. rochelle.barrish

    Nice idea you had. Yup – def only if your daughter wants it – don’t want to become monster Mom-of-the-bride.

    Reply
  12. rochelle.barrish

    Nice idea you had. Yup – def only if your daughter wants it – don’t want to become monster Mom-of-the-bride.

    Reply
  13. Sumanda

    Ek gaan nie nodig he om ‘n vinger te lig vir haar trourok nie. Haar tannie is ‘n modeontwerpster en sy het klaar gese sy sal die trourok maak πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. Sumanda

    Ek gaan nie nodig he om ‘n vinger te lig vir haar trourok nie. Haar tannie is ‘n modeontwerpster en sy het klaar gese sy sal die trourok maak πŸ™‚

    Reply
  15. ludditelass

    I still have my wedding saris but I won’t be forcing either of my boys to wear them for their weddings! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  16. ludditelass

    I still have my wedding saris but I won’t be forcing either of my boys to wear them for their weddings! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  17. chanua

    My mom never had one and neither did I. For that matter not any of my immediate fam. Our preference really but we had great fun nonetheless. πŸ™‚ Party lasted for 3 days!!!!! Yup and that’s lot’s of food! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  18. chanua

    My mom never had one and neither did I. For that matter not any of my immediate fam. Our preference really but we had great fun nonetheless. πŸ™‚ Party lasted for 3 days!!!!! Yup and that’s lot’s of food! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  19. bothajs

    My mom did the whole virgin white wedding thing in the 60’s, I married late in my life at age 36, virgin I was not, so had no white wedding dress.A wedding dress is such a personal thing, I will NOT expect Minki to get married in my copper/peach ensemble.

    Reply
  20. bothajs

    My mom did the whole virgin white wedding thing in the 60’s, I married late in my life at age 36, virgin I was not, so had no white wedding dress.A wedding dress is such a personal thing, I will NOT expect Minki to get married in my copper/peach ensemble.

    Reply
  21. Jwebber

    Just catching up on your posts. I am not sure why but my family just ain’t that organized when it comes to their wedding dresses. I didn’t wear my Mom’s or use bits of it. In fact, she couldn’t remember who she had borrowed it to. I had a dress made for my wedding and borrowed it to my cousin when she got married. She wore it as is and didn’t alter it at all. I better go and get it from her as she still has it. I’ll probably sell it. And my boys will live with me forever because I will always be the only woman for them. My oldest has told me this on numerous occasions and says that he will never get married because who will look after me when I am an old cow?I am choosing to remain in denial that they may fall in love one day. ..xx

    Reply
  22. Jwebber

    Just catching up on your posts. I am not sure why but my family just ain’t that organized when it comes to their wedding dresses. I didn’t wear my Mom’s or use bits of it. In fact, she couldn’t remember who she had borrowed it to. I had a dress made for my wedding and borrowed it to my cousin when she got married. She wore it as is and didn’t alter it at all. I better go and get it from her as she still has it. I’ll probably sell it. And my boys will live with me forever because I will always be the only woman for them. My oldest has told me this on numerous occasions and says that he will never get married because who will look after me when I am an old cow?I am choosing to remain in denial that they may fall in love one day. ..xx

    Reply
  23. rochelle.barrish

    Hehehe! I have the same denial re T. I always joke that he will only leave me when he’s 40! His father says if that’s the case, then he’s outta here when T is 18.

    Reply
  24. rochelle.barrish

    Hehehe! I have the same denial re T. I always joke that he will only leave me when he’s 40! His father says if that’s the case, then he’s outta here when T is 18.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

