The end of my singing career…

For the past two years we’ve been one of those cars you drive past where Daddy is driving and singing and Mommy and baby are doing all sorts of strange moves and singing too. Used to feel like a bit of a nutter when people drove past and stared, especially those without kids who has no idea of what the in-car entertainment of a toddler entails.

Well, for the past two weeks, DH and I have been shushhed! As soon as the music fires up and we start singing our bits or mimicking animal sounds, we’re told to shut it. It’s a good thing if we think about it carefully because I’m pretty sure it’s not a joyful noise… but Lord Muck has decreed that he’s the only one allowed to sing along now and that is it. Every now and then we forget ourselves and sing along and the stinging rebuke that comes hurtling from the back seat is something else. No Mama! No Daddy! Shhhhhh (with finger on mouth!)

Ah well – it was good while it lasted and maybe one day we’ll be allowed to revive our short-lived careers. But until then, we’re unplugged!

The face of the little boy that shattered our dreams of making it big as a mom and pop singing sensation.

40 thoughts on “The end of my singing career…

  1. shazdart

    Oh I am so glad that you have had this too! I have been told to be quiet, “Mom you don’t know how to sing”!!!! What!!! I was in the choir!!!!What a blow to the ego hey. I am now allowed to again, only because Jess is extremely impressed that I know all the words to the “latest” Michael Jackson songs. LOL πŸ˜€ xxxx(hugs)xxxx

    Reply
  2. shazdart

    Oh I am so glad that you have had this too! I have been told to be quiet, “Mom you don’t know how to sing”!!!! What!!! I was in the choir!!!!What a blow to the ego hey. I am now allowed to again, only because Jess is extremely impressed that I know all the words to the “latest” Michael Jackson songs. LOL πŸ˜€ xxxx(hugs)xxxx

    Reply
  3. rebeccav

    Ag mommy! He is too gorgeous for words! He’s getting so big, and such a handsome boy hey? Ok, ok, I don’t need to tell YOU that!LOL πŸ˜€ at the singing! I also get shushed – by Tristan! Connor laughs at me when I sing in the car. The best is when I pull into the car park at work singing Humpty Dumpty / Twinkle Twinkle because I forgot to change back to the radio! That is embarrassing!

    Reply
  4. rebeccav

    Ag mommy! He is too gorgeous for words! He’s getting so big, and such a handsome boy hey? Ok, ok, I don’t need to tell YOU that!LOL πŸ˜€ at the singing! I also get shushed – by Tristan! Connor laughs at me when I sing in the car. The best is when I pull into the car park at work singing Humpty Dumpty / Twinkle Twinkle because I forgot to change back to the radio! That is embarrassing!

    Reply
  5. parent24ed

    Joel allows me to sing, in fact I am his chief backing singer. I wouldn’t dare sing in front of Miles’s (teen)friends, though, I don’t think he’d be pleased.

    Reply
  6. parent24ed

    Joel allows me to sing, in fact I am his chief backing singer. I wouldn’t dare sing in front of Miles’s (teen)friends, though, I don’t think he’d be pleased.

    Reply
  7. rochelle.barrish

    Yay for MJ making you cool again! It really isn’t good for the ego when your little one tells you how crap you are and you have to carry on encouraging them and being nice to them!

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    Yay for MJ making you cool again! It really isn’t good for the ego when your little one tells you how crap you are and you have to carry on encouraging them and being nice to them!

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    Sweet! I sometimes catch myself humming nursery rhymes while making tea or heating food in the kitchen at work! Lank blind! as we used to say at school…

    Reply
  10. rochelle.barrish

    Sweet! I sometimes catch myself humming nursery rhymes while making tea or heating food in the kitchen at work! Lank blind! as we used to say at school…

    Reply
  11. rochelle.barrish

    Sweet Joel! I can just picture the two of you. Def NO-NO to sing in front of teen. That’s like Street cred suicide for them – LOL!

    Reply
  12. rochelle.barrish

    Sweet Joel! I can just picture the two of you. Def NO-NO to sing in front of teen. That’s like Street cred suicide for them – LOL!

    Reply
  13. rochelle.barrish

    Yup – DH giggles and says “mommy’s child” I think I’ve def met my match in this little person.

    Reply
  14. rochelle.barrish

    Yup – DH giggles and says “mommy’s child” I think I’ve def met my match in this little person.

    Reply
  15. nusha

    he is a really handsome little man πŸ™‚ i also sing alot in the car when the munchkin is traveling with and often wonder what the folk in the passing cars must think πŸ™‚

    Reply
  16. nusha

    he is a really handsome little man πŸ™‚ i also sing alot in the car when the munchkin is traveling with and often wonder what the folk in the passing cars must think πŸ™‚

    Reply
  17. ludditelass

    Big Tom is so gorgeous! Why do our children not appreciate our singing?! I also get told to shush whenever I start to sing. I’ve now been told I’m only allowed to sing once a year at Carols by Candlelight! Humf!

    Reply
  18. ludditelass

    Big Tom is so gorgeous! Why do our children not appreciate our singing?! I also get told to shush whenever I start to sing. I’ve now been told I’m only allowed to sing once a year at Carols by Candlelight! Humf!

    Reply
  19. bothajs

    Aw, what a lovely, lovely picture of Tommie (do you ever call him Tommie?), he has grown sooo much! Beautiful eyes.

    Reply
  20. bothajs

    Aw, what a lovely, lovely picture of Tommie (do you ever call him Tommie?), he has grown sooo much! Beautiful eyes.

    Reply
  21. tania.roux

    Ha, that’s funny! He is too cute!I have caught myself on many occasions singing along in the car, only to realise that I have dropped off all the kids and am halfway to town..

    Reply
  22. tania.roux

    Ha, that’s funny! He is too cute!I have caught myself on many occasions singing along in the car, only to realise that I have dropped off all the kids and am halfway to town..

    Reply
  23. rochelle.barrish

    Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahaha! It happens to us all the time. Sometimes he’s not even in the car and we’ll have the cd going and singing along loudly!

    Reply
  24. rochelle.barrish

    Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahaha! It happens to us all the time. Sometimes he’s not even in the car and we’ll have the cd going and singing along loudly!

    Reply
  25. rochelle.barrish

    Thanks! He’s most popular nicknames are Tom-Tom, Big Tom and Tomaaz… his one godmother calls him Tommie

    Reply
  26. rochelle.barrish

    Thanks! He’s most popular nicknames are Tom-Tom, Big Tom and Tomaaz… his one godmother calls him Tommie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

