Would you register your child as an organ donor?

Both DH and I are registered on the organ donor registry. We’ve spoken to family and friends and they all know our wishes when the time comes. Use what can be used and cremate the rest.

Two things happened in the past 3 days which really brought the issue home for me:

1) On Saturday we did the organ donor foundation’s easter egg hunt and great fun that it was… seeing those little people on stage who had all received organs and tissue made me think of my child. If he had to die would I just as easily make the decision to donate his organs as I would DH or as I did when I registered? I looked at him and as I always say when he gets hurt or when I’m just totally overwhelmed at his little body and what it can do: I MADE THIS FROM SCRATCH!!!! Not sure if I could. I obviously feel it’s the right thing to do and I hope that when I’m in that situation, I would be able to see my way clear and give the gift of life to other littlies.

2) The mag I work for did a story this week about a little boy who needed a transplant and the story really touched us. We heard three hours ago that he had died and we’re all devastated as we got to know him and his family.

52 thoughts on “Would you register your child as an organ donor?

  1. Sumanda

    Nope, it’s a genetic disorder with an extra chromosome. Which would have also make him unable to receive donated organs (if I’m not mistaken). {lyk my ek is dalk verkeerd. Ek het nou ‘n vraag gevra op ‘n donor website, sal laat weet sodra hulle terug gekom het na my toe.}

    Reply
  2. Sumanda

    Nope, it’s a genetic disorder with an extra chromosome. Which would have also make him unable to receive donated organs (if I’m not mistaken). {lyk my ek is dalk verkeerd. Ek het nou ‘n vraag gevra op ‘n donor website, sal laat weet sodra hulle terug gekom het na my toe.}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

