CBeebies!

I  must firstly apologise to those I will be excluding in this post – I realise not everyone has Dstv but I need to talk about the weird and wonderful CBeebies — catnip to a toddler.

Okay let’s start with Balamory

What the hell is the deal with the ‘narsery’ school teacher’s hair! It’s bizarre. And old PC Plum… hmmm he looks like a kiddy fiddler if you ask me! I love the old inventor guy – whatever his name is. And Josie and Spencer… they are just too saccharine for me. Annoy the bejesus out of me. I really don’t see the point of the old bat in the shop and the girl in the wheelchair other than the BBC trying to show they care about including the elderly and the handicapped. Because they rarely get any air time. Edie MCreadie is also not too bad.

The there’s Sid, the continuity presenter… What the hell… how many times can you do the I’m small and the box is big trick with the camera and the old tennis ball thing as well… Find something new to do fer godsakes!

Bill and Ben… my son understands them, I don’t. All I hear is flabbadabba doo and flabbadabba dee.

Teletubbies – ok that’s worth the irritation because it gives me at least 15 mins of peace in the morning.

Tikkabilla is fun too… But I swear all of those people are on some seriyaaas drugs.

Mister Maker is just too annoying even if he teaches you how to make really cool things in under a minute. Thomas watches that on his own.

Boogie Beebies is lots of fun. I enjoy that – but eish, more evidence of drugs!

But what really does my head in (or as Sumanda so beautifully put it in Afrikaans the other day…. my gat se deksel is) Me Too! I dare anyone to watch that and tell me the pink taxi driver and Granny Murray aren’t on some devilish drug cocktail. They one-eyed guy is ok I suppose or maybe that’s just my PC-ness talking. But those chicks really take the cake in being whacked out of their minds. You have to be to do what they do day in and day out. I can stomach the doctor chick who leaves her dog with Granny Murray on a good day. I wonder if these people are the reason our kids have so much energy?

And the sweet Fimbles… they’re ok I guess but Thomas loses interest pretty quickly. I just love the: When you take a look, inside a book, who knows what you will seeeee?! It speaks to my inner kid.

But Thomas’ absolute favourite at the moment is… Top Gear! I think I need drugs to cope with the fact that Jeremy Clarkson probably has more influence over my son at the moment than what I do. I was relieved to see no TG last night. They might be taking a break — Yay!

48 thoughts on “CBeebies!

  1. deids13

    LOL- we have a CBeebies house too. I totally agree about PC Plum, definitely dodgyness there. Miss E also likes Top Gear, she can even say “Jewemy Cwarkson”, lol πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. deids13

    LOL- we have a CBeebies house too. I totally agree about PC Plum, definitely dodgyness there. Miss E also likes Top Gear, she can even say “Jewemy Cwarkson”, lol πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Sumanda

    Ha ha ha! Nee kyk, ek en manlief het besluit aangesien ons in elkgeval niks op TV gekyk kan kry nie (al is daar 3 TV’s in die huis), het ons nou maar die DSTV laat diskonneteer. Het jy enige idee hoeveel DVD’s jy kan koop met die maandelikse DSTV geld? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Sumanda

    Ha ha ha! Nee kyk, ek en manlief het besluit aangesien ons in elkgeval niks op TV gekyk kan kry nie (al is daar 3 TV’s in die huis), het ons nou maar die DSTV laat diskonneteer. Het jy enige idee hoeveel DVD’s jy kan koop met die maandelikse DSTV geld? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    LOL! Nie so daaraan gedink nie. Maar dan gaan ek my Series mis en die Crime kanaal en die Sony kanaal… Neeeee!

    Reply
  6. rochelle.barrish

    LOL! Nie so daaraan gedink nie. Maar dan gaan ek my Series mis en die Crime kanaal en die Sony kanaal… Neeeee!

    Reply
  7. Zayaan27

    My nieces used to love Boogie Beebies, they’ve since moved to Qatar so not sure what they’re watching now.

    Reply
  8. Zayaan27

    My nieces used to love Boogie Beebies, they’ve since moved to Qatar so not sure what they’re watching now.

    Reply
  9. bothajs

    Igle Pigle from Night Garden freaks me out! Minki likes BRUM! and Nuzzle & Scratch. Oh, and the one with the doggie SPOT.

    Reply
  10. bothajs

    Igle Pigle from Night Garden freaks me out! Minki likes BRUM! and Nuzzle & Scratch. Oh, and the one with the doggie SPOT.

    Reply
  11. rebeccav

    You know what’s so sad after reading your post? I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about 😦 Hubby also says Plum gives him the screaming shits – in fact, he says ANY man that appears on these kids’ shows should be suspect! And he also wants to know WTF is with Miss Hooly’s hair!Connor’s on the same page as MinkiMinki – although I have banned In the Night Garden as it makes him very weird. I’m thinking brainwashing or something? I actually wonder if half of Connor’s speech issues are thanks to Teletubbies & Iggle Piggle!

    Reply
  12. rebeccav

    You know what’s so sad after reading your post? I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about 😦 Hubby also says Plum gives him the screaming shits – in fact, he says ANY man that appears on these kids’ shows should be suspect! And he also wants to know WTF is with Miss Hooly’s hair!Connor’s on the same page as MinkiMinki – although I have banned In the Night Garden as it makes him very weird. I’m thinking brainwashing or something? I actually wonder if half of Connor’s speech issues are thanks to Teletubbies & Iggle Piggle!

    Reply
  13. ludditelass

    We don’t have DSTV but my parents used to tape Balamory for D when he was little and we all loved it. Archie the inventor and Josie Jump are the best. And PC Plum is just the campest PC ever. It’s all very nostalgic for me because I went to nursery and primary school in Scotland and my Primary 1 teacher had red hair and sounded just like Miss Hooly.

    Reply
  14. ludditelass

    We don’t have DSTV but my parents used to tape Balamory for D when he was little and we all loved it. Archie the inventor and Josie Jump are the best. And PC Plum is just the campest PC ever. It’s all very nostalgic for me because I went to nursery and primary school in Scotland and my Primary 1 teacher had red hair and sounded just like Miss Hooly.

    Reply
  15. tania.roux

    I love Balamory, but that chick’s hair is a bit nuts!What about Big Cook, Little Cook? ‘runs and hides’

    Reply
  16. tania.roux

    I love Balamory, but that chick’s hair is a bit nuts!What about Big Cook, Little Cook? ‘runs and hides’

    Reply
  17. Parentpassions

    My big complaint is how do these kids of ours actually learn anything from the programmes? Eh-oh – is the main word in Teletubbies. Flubba-lubba is the flower pot lingo in Bill and Ben. Huh? I really don’t get it.

    Reply
  18. Parentpassions

    My big complaint is how do these kids of ours actually learn anything from the programmes? Eh-oh – is the main word in Teletubbies. Flubba-lubba is the flower pot lingo in Bill and Ben. Huh? I really don’t get it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

