Reinventing my wardrobe

I started packing away my summer threads and hauling out my (very tiny) winter wardrobe. I found some dresses I last wore before pregnancy and had a look to see if they still fitted. I have a few velvet sleeveless dresses that has buttons right down the front and none of them would button up past my tummy! I tried starting from the bottom and also tried from the top it just wouldn’t close over the gut and the boozums.:-) I was totally frustrated as they’re still in good nick and in an inspired moment, I decided to wear them as ‘coats’. So now I have a few more outfits to add to my little wardrobe. I wear them over trousers and polonecks or long-sleeved t-shirts. Problem solved! Necessity truly is the mother of all invention.

38 thoughts on “Reinventing my wardrobe

  1. rochelle.barrish

    Hey Aries, I used to be like that but I always found myself regretting it afterwards if I saw what someone else did with their clothes and how they reinvented it.

    Reply
  2. rochelle.barrish

    Hey Aries, I used to be like that but I always found myself regretting it afterwards if I saw what someone else did with their clothes and how they reinvented it.

    Reply
  3. deblet

    Good idea to recycle maternity stuff,I have lent mine t so many people and they just keep coming back.Have a good weekend

    Reply
  4. deblet

    Good idea to recycle maternity stuff,I have lent mine t so many people and they just keep coming back.Have a good weekend

    Reply
  5. lyndamadd

    Well done. I was planning on sifting through my cupboard this weekend – now I don’t HAVE to throw away the stuff I truly love. Thanks for the idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. lyndamadd

    Well done. I was planning on sifting through my cupboard this weekend – now I don’t HAVE to throw away the stuff I truly love. Thanks for the idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  7. shazdart

    What a great idea! Well done Shell. I too have a very small winter wardrobe. I really have to find some money for some tops, haven’t bought anything for 3 years or more. xxxx

    Reply
  8. shazdart

    What a great idea! Well done Shell. I too have a very small winter wardrobe. I really have to find some money for some tops, haven’t bought anything for 3 years or more. xxxx

    Reply
  9. durbandiva

    none of my tops last long enough to really recycle and I don’t have enough clothes to pack away anything – I tend to wear the same stuff winter and summer and just add a jersey in winter – Durban doesnt really get cold.

    Reply
  10. durbandiva

    none of my tops last long enough to really recycle and I don’t have enough clothes to pack away anything – I tend to wear the same stuff winter and summer and just add a jersey in winter – Durban doesnt really get cold.

    Reply
  11. bothajs

    Clever! And it surely helped the budget along a bit as well.I really need to go shopping, I wear stuff that is 5 years old!

    Reply
  12. bothajs

    Clever! And it surely helped the budget along a bit as well.I really need to go shopping, I wear stuff that is 5 years old!

    Reply
  13. Sumanda

    Tristan vra of Thomas bad :). “Bad hy? Is hy nou koon? Bad hy nog?”En natuurlik: “Is dit Annabelle?” “Nee, dis Thomas” “Thomas? Gaan hy ry?” “Ja”

    Reply
  14. Sumanda

    Tristan vra of Thomas bad :). “Bad hy? Is hy nou koon? Bad hy nog?”En natuurlik: “Is dit Annabelle?” “Nee, dis Thomas” “Thomas? Gaan hy ry?” “Ja”

    Reply
  15. tania.roux

    Woohoo, you clever gal! I had a moment of panic there when I thought you actually fit into anything pre-child.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  16. tania.roux

    Woohoo, you clever gal! I had a moment of panic there when I thought you actually fit into anything pre-child.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  17. rochelle.barrish

    Hahaha! oulik! Thomas verkyk ook homself aan al die blog babas en laaities wanneer hy saam met my ‘blog’!

    Reply
  18. rochelle.barrish

    Hahaha! oulik! Thomas verkyk ook homself aan al die blog babas en laaities wanneer hy saam met my ‘blog’!

    Reply
  19. rochelle.barrish

    Nooit! I’m already having palpitations re the MOB – have to keep away from the camera!

    Reply
  20. rochelle.barrish

    Nooit! I’m already having palpitations re the MOB – have to keep away from the camera!

    Reply
  21. rochelle.barrish

    I’m not good with the whole layering thing, hey… Always feel untidy… suppose it’s because of my untidy body!

    Reply
  22. rochelle.barrish

    I’m not good with the whole layering thing, hey… Always feel untidy… suppose it’s because of my untidy body!

    Reply
  23. rochelle.barrish

    Isn’t that the saddest thing? That we run around in threadbare clothes while trying to raise our kids as best as we can?

    Reply
  24. rochelle.barrish

    Isn’t that the saddest thing? That we run around in threadbare clothes while trying to raise our kids as best as we can?

    Reply
  25. chanua

    I like covering all my bits as well and that is one supercool idea. Thanks perhaps you should start a line. How’s about”Lets see what you have…” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  26. chanua

    I like covering all my bits as well and that is one supercool idea. Thanks perhaps you should start a line. How’s about”Lets see what you have…” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

