Why are online comments so mean and ugly?

Am I the only one who feels like this? I read most of my Sunday newspapers online because the days of buying all the Sunday newspapers and reading it in bed with breakfast are long gone.

I am gobsmacked to read how ugly people get with one another. And they of course never identify themselves fully. Makes me sad to think my child is going to have to go to school with, play sport against, be at varsity with and work with people who are raised by these mean people. I hope that I’m able to coat my child in enough love and respect for himself and his fellow man not to be too severely affected by the legacy of such people. I would like to think that their children would not turn out like them but what are the chances if you are raised in a house (cannot be a home) where this sort of language and intolerance is par for the course. Or are they normal loving parents/people who only let’s their dark side out online and anonymously?

Sis on them, either way!

28 thoughts on “Why are online comments so mean and ugly?

  1. durbandiva

    most of the comments also end up completely off topic or not even about the article but about someone elses comment. Sadly there are very few educated comments. I think people let their dark sides out when they be anonymous.

    Reply
  2. Katrinkie

    I agree wholeheartedly with you. Even if one does not agree with a comment, there are numerous ways of respectfully putting a different point of view across.It seems like people are so angry inside and forget that a kind word, or a genuine smile can make someone else’s day and relieve some of the stress they themselves are feeling inside.Let’s all smile at someone we don’t know today and get that happy feeling!

    Reply
  3. danile

    I think there are people who thrive on being nasty anonymously. These are just rude people and I agree with Katrinkie, there are many ways to put your views across and there’s no need to be nasty.

    Reply
  4. mladanyi

    People are oblivious to other’s feelings when they know they cannot be confronted. I also don’t like it when people are forever being nasty. I was taught not to say things about people that I would not repeat infront of them.Have a nice day

    Reply
  5. shazdart

    Sis on them indeed!! I really don’t get why this has to be, but it is the same on the forums here too. Please get so personal and take everything so personally, not the way things were intended at all if you take the time to read properly.This I think is the fault of a rushed life style and too much supposition on the part of the reader and ultimately the writer of the comments. xx (hug for gorgeous Thomas) xx

    Reply
  6. deids13

    I find the comments on the Sunday Times to be some of the worst/meanest/most racist of any other news site. I’m not sure what it is about that newspaper that brings out comments like that.

    Reply
  7. kerrynagel

    I recently started reading the comments on the articles and was horrified at the things people had to say. Clearly, having some form of anonymity brings out the worst in people. I often wonder what they would do or say if this was a face-to-face conversation.

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    I’m really saddened by the lack of intellectual discourse online. It always degenerates into a vile heap of hate and meanness. Except for our lovely little community! Yay for sprogblogs.

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    You are so right, Shazzie. Thanks for the hugs – will have so much fun giving it to the little man!

    Reply
  10. Bossy-bootz

    I recall beinga regular on the preggy forum a while back and occasionally a troll would poke their heads and “attack” all and sundry! *sigh*But I agree, a sense of anonymity does seem to bring out the mean!

    Reply
  11. rochelle.barrish

    We have a troll here in Sprogblog land as well but he’s not mean… I think he just tries to get us to go read his blog as well.

    Reply
  12. FoxieRox

    This is a pet peeve of mine. If you would be uncomfortable to say it to the person’s face then it is equally unacceptable as an online comment. People completely lose their wits and sense of tact when they know they are anonymous. I really have no idea why though…

    Reply
  13. nusha

    people seem to lose their minds and all their common decency when shielded with anonymity. its like Lunar says … if you can’t say it to someones face then you shoudln’t say it at all! It makes me both very angry and very sad!

    Reply
  14. rochelle.barrish

    So very true. I can honestly say that I’ve never done it and hope to never be that ugly.

    Reply
  15. ludditelass

    Great post, Shell! I avoid forums and the like where the comments degenerate into personal attacks and bigoted bile. I only write comments that I would be prepared to say to the writer in person. I think the anonymity lets people get away with murder. But sometimes I wonder if the really outrageous and vitriolic comments are real or just the work of an “opstoker”.

    Reply
  16. ebonyandivory

    Die anoniemiteit maak die mense meer evil. Ek kan se wat ek wil want niemand weet wie ek is ni, tipe houding. Dit is ‘n ewil. Maar wys ook wat mense regtig dink en wat andersins nooit bekend sou wees nie. Maak mens bang!

    Reply
  17. Jwebber

    So true. In order for me to maintain my sanity I’m now at the point where I read the article and don’t even look at the comments.x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

