We’ll be hungry this holiday…

Read over the weekend that the kids who depend on the meal they get at school as their only meal for the day are at risk of going hungry over the long holiday. The WCED has decided to keep some of the most neediest schools open and feed the kids but how do you feed only the kids who belong to your school? How do you turn away a hungry child or adult? Yikes. Scary.

I sincerely hope that each and every child will be fed this holidays and that not one will go hungry. I really hope the Dept of Social Service pulls finger and can persuade teachers to do a roster type thing and keep feeding the kids. Can you imagine all the sickos who can exploit these hungry innocents? Urggh – I’m probably just being oversensitive following my soup kitchen experience.

18 thoughts on “We’ll be hungry this holiday…

  1. parent24ed

    Seems incomprehensible, with so much unnecessary spending everywhere, including me and my mirror socks.

    Reply
  2. parent24ed

    Seems incomprehensible, with so much unnecessary spending everywhere, including me and my mirror socks.

    Reply
  3. ludditelass

    I didn’t even think about that. Sjoe, kind of puts into perspective worrying about how to keep the children entertained for such a long holiday. I can’t imagine worrying about keeping them fed. We are so privileged. I must find out what happens over the holidays to the soup kitchen that the school children at D’s school run. Thanks for making me think.

    Reply
  4. ludditelass

    I didn’t even think about that. Sjoe, kind of puts into perspective worrying about how to keep the children entertained for such a long holiday. I can’t imagine worrying about keeping them fed. We are so privileged. I must find out what happens over the holidays to the soup kitchen that the school children at D’s school run. Thanks for making me think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

