Rotting lungs and hospital visits

Two days before my birthday I went to a Boo gig with a friend. I behaved like a singleton, shots and fags galore. I knew I’d pay but I had no idea how dearly. Was felled by a lung infection the next week. Took me a week to get to Doc because I thought I could self-medicate. A week of cortisone, antibiotics and some nasty nasal spray later I was still not well and endured three nights of hell before I had an attack similar to what asthmatics have and had to get to a hospital in a hurry. I was ECGed and pricked and prodded and tested and X-rayed. They know what it is not – pnuemonia, collapsed lung and all the other pulmonary delights but don’t know what it is. My inner nerd says it’s the four fags I had at the gig and also all the secondary smoke I inhaled.

I’m on my second course of antibiotics and after having the third tablet I can already feel the difference. They’ve thrown these hectic antibiotics at the rotting lungs and want to see me in a week’s time to see if they can see anything else they missed this time around.

I don’t know how asthmatics do it. My close encounter left me very shaken and scared.

42 thoughts on “Rotting lungs and hospital visits

  1. ludditelass

    Sjoe, so sorry to hear your lungs are “rotting”. Can I assume that’s the end of the fags for you?

    Reply
  2. ludditelass

    Sjoe, so sorry to hear your lungs are “rotting”. Can I assume that’s the end of the fags for you?

    Reply
  3. rochelle.barrish

    The fags ended almost four years ago but I was being very foolish by having four after nearly four years. Girls night out and all that crap.

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    The fags ended almost four years ago but I was being very foolish by having four after nearly four years. Girls night out and all that crap.

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    LOL! After nearly four years of being smoke-free… weet ek nie wat de f*k my besiel het nie.

    Reply
  6. rochelle.barrish

    LOL! After nearly four years of being smoke-free… weet ek nie wat de f*k my besiel het nie.

    Reply
  7. rochelle.barrish

    Inderdaad – het net heeltyd aan my kind gedink en hoeveel van sy lewe ek gaan uit mis 😦

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    Inderdaad – het net heeltyd aan my kind gedink en hoeveel van sy lewe ek gaan uit mis 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

