Elephant tranquilisers (1)

Hey everybody. I’m back and on the mend hopefully.

Thank you so much for all the concern and wishes and to Deblet for the surprise visit and treat!

Two days before the World Cup started I was still self-medicating what I thought was just the yearly cold we all get. On opening ceremony day I felt worse than ever and decided to go to my GP. She diagnosed chest infection and gave a me script and off I went. I had been feeling exceptionally tired,short of breath and I had this constant wheeze/rattle in my throat though and was not coping too well. I had to use one of my couch pillows to sleep up against. No ways could I lay down and sleep. Once the meds were finished I felt even kacker and called GP who said give it a day or two then call me again.

On Thursday 17 June, I started coughing up pleghm but it was more hacking and hurling than cough. At 10 that night on my umpteenth trip to the loo to hack and hurl, I just passed out. Scary. Luckily I passed out just as I was leaving our room so DH heard me go down. I was very afraid then and insisted on going to our local hospital. By the time we got to the hospital I was hyperventilating because I couldn’t breathe properly and because of the shock of falling. Get to ER and they take one look at me and declare me insane in their minds.

I get asked all sorts of Pscyh questions and if I’ve had any ‘episodes’ before and how often I have episodes etc. Am I anxious about anything, Blah Blah.

They give me two pilletjies onder die tong and said- see you’re all better now! I said of course I’m all better now, you’ve sedated me. Doesn’t mean you’ve figured out why I’m not able to breathe properly.

They took blood and called me the Friday morning to come for an X-ray as the blood work came back with a high marker for clots. Finally, I thought, we’re getting somewhere. We do the X-ray and no clots according to them. Throw more antibiotics at me and sends me home.

The next Tuesday when the antibiotics are done again I still feel like the dog’s backside and decide to go back to my GP. She then decides I have acute bronchitis and back to the pharmacy with a script as long as my arm. On Saturday 26 June all the meds are finished and I have another asthma like attack and my entire chest is heaving with a simple breath. Decide to go to another hospital’s ER -maybe they would do better…

48 thoughts on “Elephant tranquilisers (1)

  1. deids13

    Good grief. I would have been irritated by the psych questions. What happened next, I’m dying to know?!?

    Reply
  2. deids13

    Good grief. I would have been irritated by the psych questions. What happened next, I’m dying to know?!?

    Reply
  3. ludditelass

    Sjoe, Shell, the medical fraternity didn’t do too well for you, did they?! Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. If you’re knocked out with elephant tranqs you could do with a hand. Your DH has my contact details so let me know when I can visit. Sterkte!

    Reply
  4. ludditelass

    Sjoe, Shell, the medical fraternity didn’t do too well for you, did they?! Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. If you’re knocked out with elephant tranqs you could do with a hand. Your DH has my contact details so let me know when I can visit. Sterkte!

    Reply
  5. FoxieRox

    Holy crap. I hate it when doctors make you feel like you don’t know what is going on in your own body. Hope you are feeling 100% now and also intrigued to hear the rest of the story.

    Reply
  6. FoxieRox

    Holy crap. I hate it when doctors make you feel like you don’t know what is going on in your own body. Hope you are feeling 100% now and also intrigued to hear the rest of the story.

    Reply
  7. rebeccav

    Fark woman! I wondered where you’ve been! I thought maybe you busy at work, but never imagined THIS! Hmmm, waiting for part2 so I can see you’re (hopefully) on the mend / better?

    Reply
  8. rebeccav

    Fark woman! I wondered where you’ve been! I thought maybe you busy at work, but never imagined THIS! Hmmm, waiting for part2 so I can see you’re (hopefully) on the mend / better?

    Reply
  9. youunlimited

    So glad you are on the mend. Can’t believe they assumed panic attack first, esp as you were being treated for a chest infection! That’s just scary!

    Reply
  10. youunlimited

    So glad you are on the mend. Can’t believe they assumed panic attack first, esp as you were being treated for a chest infection! That’s just scary!

    Reply
  11. danile

    Hey Shell, I’m dying to know what part 2 is all about! And happy that you are allright now.I’ve had somewhat of a similar experience as you. I had to convince the doc that I have no stress at home or work and I spit out the pilletjie they made me take the moment she turned her back. Fortunately mine was simple, low blood pressure.

    Reply
  12. danile

    Hey Shell, I’m dying to know what part 2 is all about! And happy that you are allright now.I’ve had somewhat of a similar experience as you. I had to convince the doc that I have no stress at home or work and I spit out the pilletjie they made me take the moment she turned her back. Fortunately mine was simple, low blood pressure.

    Reply
  13. parent24ed

    Sorry, but I had to laugh at them sommer deciding you’re a basket case. Must be that wild look in your eye. Glad you’re blogging again, we were worried about you.

    Reply
  14. parent24ed

    Sorry, but I had to laugh at them sommer deciding you’re a basket case. Must be that wild look in your eye. Glad you’re blogging again, we were worried about you.

    Reply
  15. Parentpassions

    Please send part 2 soon – I’m hooked. Hope this all ends with you much better. Also hope there isn’t a part 3, 4, 5…I can’t handle the suspense.

    Reply
  16. Parentpassions

    Please send part 2 soon – I’m hooked. Hope this all ends with you much better. Also hope there isn’t a part 3, 4, 5…I can’t handle the suspense.

    Reply
  17. rochelle.barrish

    Very difficult. He’s a very active little boy who cannot understand why Mama suddenly can’t play anymore.

    Reply
  18. rochelle.barrish

    Very difficult. He’s a very active little boy who cannot understand why Mama suddenly can’t play anymore.

    Reply
  19. rochelle.barrish

    I know – I kept telling myself that I’ve lived with and in my body for long enough to KNOW when something is drastically wrong.

    Reply
  20. rochelle.barrish

    I know – I kept telling myself that I’ve lived with and in my body for long enough to KNOW when something is drastically wrong.

    Reply
  21. rochelle.barrish

    Thanks, Luddy will def call on your number… DH is being very brave but he will need help.

    Reply
  22. rochelle.barrish

    Thanks, Luddy will def call on your number… DH is being very brave but he will need help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

