Whatever happened to Boutros Boutros-Ghali?

You know how many of us struggle with the consequences of always having to be polite and please people and have people in our lives who just live to make kack comments? Well, I have a very good excuse to be rude now(if you have a bum heart, people will let you get away with things, I think) and I have the perfect retort.

On one of my many travels through PMC, I was in Ward B who has the early onset dementia and other such delights included into the mix. They try to keep all the different types of animals together but we were mixed up every now and then. On one such mix-up I shared a ward with an Alzheimer’s lady who had truly travelled the world (dunno if it’s imagined, but she had me hooked with her stories). But the weird thing was that she would stop anywhere in her story and suddenly ask: Whatever happened to Boutros Boutros-Ghali and that would be the end of the conversation. You would get nothing more out of her no matter what you said about BBG.

I’ve decided that I will do that from now. I’ve had some beauties since my diagnosis. From people wanting to know if I’m comfortable leaving my son in DH’s care when I die (because men don’t know how to take care of kids you see) to all sorts of other really kack comments. And what have I been doing? Not doing the usual fish out of water mouth flapping and not knowing what to say and crying about it afterwards…

I look them straight in the eye and say: Whatever happened to Boutros Boutros-Ghali? with the most earnest expression on my face and just walk away. Tongue out

Heck, people thought I was loopy for long enough. I’ve earned my loopy stripes.

Oh and if you want to know whatever happened to him:

Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Arabic: ???? ???? ????, Coptic: Bουτρος Βουτρος-Γαλι) (born 14 November 1922) is an Egyptian diplomat who was the sixth Secretary-General of the United Nations (UN) from January 1992 to December 1996. An academic and former Foreign Minister of Egypt, Boutros Boutros-Ghali oversaw the UN at a time when several foreign crises, including the breakup of Yugoslavia and the Rwandan Genocide, demanded its attention.

He’s involved in humanitarian work currently.

48 thoughts on “Whatever happened to Boutros Boutros-Ghali?

  1. hopefulmom

    Love it! Mind if I use it? By the end of these 3 months you’ll be able to write a book about the stupid and kack things people say!

    Reply
  2. hopefulmom

    Love it! Mind if I use it? By the end of these 3 months you’ll be able to write a book about the stupid and kack things people say!

    Reply
  3. ludditelass

    How bizarre! So if we hear this coming out of your mouth we’ll know we’ve said the wrong, wrong thing! But, sorry, who in their right mind asks a question like that about your DH’s parenting abilities – yikes! You’re clearly not the only one earning their loony stripes.

    Reply
  4. ludditelass

    How bizarre! So if we hear this coming out of your mouth we’ll know we’ve said the wrong, wrong thing! But, sorry, who in their right mind asks a question like that about your DH’s parenting abilities – yikes! You’re clearly not the only one earning their loony stripes.

    Reply
  5. ebonyandivory

    We will remember. I can see this is going to be the next it saying. specially on the blogs. I love it. I wish I could have sent you some flowers in hospital, but this is the next best I can do.

    Reply
  6. ebonyandivory

    We will remember. I can see this is going to be the next it saying. specially on the blogs. I love it. I wish I could have sent you some flowers in hospital, but this is the next best I can do.

    Reply
  7. chanua

    How you manage to hold that most earnest expression is beyond me, the look on others faces would have had me packing up with laughter. Well done teach them for being yucky and not minding their business. πŸ™‚ Cool aunty you shared a room with

    Reply
  8. chanua

    How you manage to hold that most earnest expression is beyond me, the look on others faces would have had me packing up with laughter. Well done teach them for being yucky and not minding their business. πŸ™‚ Cool aunty you shared a room with

    Reply
  9. youunlimited

    I love that, must learn how to pronounce his name too. Can think of many perfect situations where this would work!

    Reply
  10. youunlimited

    I love that, must learn how to pronounce his name too. Can think of many perfect situations where this would work!

    Reply
  11. shazdart

    What stupid comments!! I had a situation recently where I have had to have a conversation with a friend who is very ill. I just said to her that I had no idea what to say to her except that I am here for her if she needs my help. I can’t say I know how she feels, I couldn’t possibly, I have never been in the situation she is in now. I hope she appreciated my honesty, at least she didn’t ask me “what happened to Boutros Boutros Gali” xxxx

    Reply
  12. shazdart

    What stupid comments!! I had a situation recently where I have had to have a conversation with a friend who is very ill. I just said to her that I had no idea what to say to her except that I am here for her if she needs my help. I can’t say I know how she feels, I couldn’t possibly, I have never been in the situation she is in now. I hope she appreciated my honesty, at least she didn’t ask me “what happened to Boutros Boutros Gali” xxxx

    Reply
  13. rochelle.barrish

    Oh yes, been using it with such glee. It’s the perfect retort because you walk away as if you’re looking for BBG and they’re left flapping like a fish out of water.

    Reply
  14. rochelle.barrish

    Oh yes, been using it with such glee. It’s the perfect retort because you walk away as if you’re looking for BBG and they’re left flapping like a fish out of water.

    Reply
  15. rochelle.barrish

    Tee hee hee, Shaz, I can’t think of any instance where someone would have to ask you that. You’re far too wise and compassionate for that.

    Reply
  16. rochelle.barrish

    Tee hee hee, Shaz, I can’t think of any instance where someone would have to ask you that. You’re far too wise and compassionate for that.

    Reply
  17. rochelle.barrish

    I know… I even heard via DHs church grapevine that I have the HI virus and have three months to live. HOw gorgeous is that?

    Reply
  18. rochelle.barrish

    I know… I even heard via DHs church grapevine that I have the HI virus and have three months to live. HOw gorgeous is that?

    Reply
  19. rochelle.barrish

    Ag dankie skattebol! Just knowing that you care is enough for me, hoor? I know, it can be one of our in-jokes.

    Reply
  20. rochelle.barrish

    Ag dankie skattebol! Just knowing that you care is enough for me, hoor? I know, it can be one of our in-jokes.

    Reply
  21. rebeccav

    “Would you like fries with that?” also works quite well. :DAmazing how people make up fantasy drama about other people because their own lives are so boring! I’d try start a rumour about them!

    Reply
  22. rebeccav

    “Would you like fries with that?” also works quite well. :DAmazing how people make up fantasy drama about other people because their own lives are so boring! I’d try start a rumour about them!

    Reply
  23. bothajs

    I usually get a blank look on my face and mutter to myself “I wonder if there is enough ice-cream in the fridge” and then proceed to write “ice-cream”, “ice-cream” with a red pen all over my hands and arms.

    Reply
  24. bothajs

    I usually get a blank look on my face and mutter to myself “I wonder if there is enough ice-cream in the fridge” and then proceed to write “ice-cream”, “ice-cream” with a red pen all over my hands and arms.

    Reply
  25. nusha

    you’re completely priceless Shell! πŸ˜€ it actually reminds me a little of the “Who is John Galt?” thing from the book Atlas Shrugged … only yours is WAY funnier! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  26. nusha

    you’re completely priceless Shell! πŸ˜€ it actually reminds me a little of the “Who is John Galt?” thing from the book Atlas Shrugged … only yours is WAY funnier! πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

