Mama, you’re fixed now?!

These are the words my assistant nurse declares after every medicine-giving exercise. Since I came from hospital and he wouldn’t let me out of his sight, he has demanded that he give me my cocktail of drugs and holds the glass of water as I swallow the tablets.

And once the tablets are down… Mama, you’re fixed now?! Then I have to explain that I must first finish ALL the tablets in the packets before I am fixed. Not sure he understands, but that’s the best I can do.

Another thing he says a lot that just finishes me, is : Mama, you can’t go with me? I haven’t been going anywhere, it’s always just him and DH so when he asks this I know that he wants me to go with and I have to say no, I wait here for you.

He’s also very insecure about my whereabouts in the house since my hospital stay. I have to announce where I’m going and what I’ll be doing. And if he’s forgotten where I said I’d be he runs through the house in a flat spin shrieking Mama, Mama!

But we are just loving him more than is humanly possible and I hope this episode is nothing more than a blip on his childhood memories. I can’t remember anything before 4/5 years anyway. Hope he’s the same.

I am definitely feeling much stronger this week and seeing as how I’m supposed to be back at work next week, it’s a good thing. Will obviously have to ease back into work but if this is how I feel after a month of the meds… I think there’s hope for me.

30 thoughts on “Mama, you’re fixed now?!

  1. rebeccav

    Oh man, don’t they just break your heart? I hate seeing kids sad :(BUT, it sounds like Momma is almost all fixed now! Sounds like these meds are starting to do their job! I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better 🙂 Not sure if work is such a great plan next week – you’ll have to make sure you feel well enough to be going back!! Don’t do anything stoopid like I would :DKeep that chin up, and stick to the meds 🙂

    Reply
  2. rebeccav

    Oh man, don’t they just break your heart? I hate seeing kids sad :(BUT, it sounds like Momma is almost all fixed now! Sounds like these meds are starting to do their job! I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better 🙂 Not sure if work is such a great plan next week – you’ll have to make sure you feel well enough to be going back!! Don’t do anything stoopid like I would :DKeep that chin up, and stick to the meds 🙂

    Reply
  3. Parentpassions

    Wow – I don’t know how I missed all your troubles – think it was a bad work week for me and things! I’m so sorry to hear about your pains and the nightmare you’re having. I really hope worst case scenario never happens. And it’s so amazing how our little angels have natural instincts to protect their mommies from harm – incredible! Thinking of you and sending you tons of virtual flowers to recover faster!

    Reply
  4. Parentpassions

    Wow – I don’t know how I missed all your troubles – think it was a bad work week for me and things! I’m so sorry to hear about your pains and the nightmare you’re having. I really hope worst case scenario never happens. And it’s so amazing how our little angels have natural instincts to protect their mommies from harm – incredible! Thinking of you and sending you tons of virtual flowers to recover faster!

    Reply
  5. bothajs

    Shame, poor boy! He must have been very scared and concerned about his Mama, but I am sure he will see now that you are OK and planning to stick around.xxxxx for Thomas.

    Reply
  6. bothajs

    Shame, poor boy! He must have been very scared and concerned about his Mama, but I am sure he will see now that you are OK and planning to stick around.xxxxx for Thomas.

    Reply
  7. nusha

    Poor Thomas! I’m sure it is a phase that will he surely forget once everything is settled again and his mamma is up and about once more! He really is such a sweet little boy! Glad you’re on the mend and feeling stronger! Hugs!

    Reply
  8. nusha

    Poor Thomas! I’m sure it is a phase that will he surely forget once everything is settled again and his mamma is up and about once more! He really is such a sweet little boy! Glad you’re on the mend and feeling stronger! Hugs!

    Reply
  9. coyote13

    So glad you’re home and on the mend. I’m sure Thomas will forget all about this, but it’s so sweet that he’s worried and wants to be your nurse.Hugs & strength to you all

    Reply
  10. coyote13

    So glad you’re home and on the mend. I’m sure Thomas will forget all about this, but it’s so sweet that he’s worried and wants to be your nurse.Hugs & strength to you all

    Reply
  11. youunlimited

    So glad you are feeling better! Big Tom is too cute. Am sure with time and your usual routine falls into place he will feel even more secure. big hugs to you all

    Reply
  12. youunlimited

    So glad you are feeling better! Big Tom is too cute. Am sure with time and your usual routine falls into place he will feel even more secure. big hugs to you all

    Reply
  13. shazdart

    So very glad that you are feeling better. What a sweet boy your Thomas is, I am sure that as soon as you are in the routine of work and going out as a family again he will be more secure and will not be permanently marked by the recent experience. Huge hugs (gentle ones) and have a great weekend. xx

    Reply
  14. shazdart

    So very glad that you are feeling better. What a sweet boy your Thomas is, I am sure that as soon as you are in the routine of work and going out as a family again he will be more secure and will not be permanently marked by the recent experience. Huge hugs (gentle ones) and have a great weekend. xx

    Reply
  15. ludditelass

    It sounds like you have the most attentive and adorable little Thomas Nightingale! Glad to hear you are feeling stronger but only go back to work if you really think you are up to it. And maybe wearing a mask would be a good idea – there are so many yucky germs floating around at the moment. Thinking of you!

    Reply
  16. ludditelass

    It sounds like you have the most attentive and adorable little Thomas Nightingale! Glad to hear you are feeling stronger but only go back to work if you really think you are up to it. And maybe wearing a mask would be a good idea – there are so many yucky germs floating around at the moment. Thinking of you!

    Reply
  17. ebonyandivory

    So how are you doing? Back at work??? AAAahhh how sweet is our little man!! Taking real good care of mama!! Hugs to you!!

    Reply
  18. ebonyandivory

    So how are you doing? Back at work??? AAAahhh how sweet is our little man!! Taking real good care of mama!! Hugs to you!!

    Reply
  19. Sumanda

    I’ve added your blog as one that I read on NetworkedBlogs. Here’s the link if you want to go have a lookhttp://apps.facebook.com/blognetworks/blog/big_toms_mom/

    Reply
  20. Sumanda

    I’ve added your blog as one that I read on NetworkedBlogs. Here’s the link if you want to go have a lookhttp://apps.facebook.com/blognetworks/blog/big_toms_mom/

    Reply
  21. deids13

    How are you doing? I see you commenting on blogs so I know you’re still kicking 😉 How about a little update post if you’re up to it? I miss reading your blogs.

    Reply
  22. deids13

    How are you doing? I see you commenting on blogs so I know you’re still kicking 😉 How about a little update post if you’re up to it? I miss reading your blogs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

