Who the bleep is Gill Marcus????

Since being in hospital, I’ve not really touched my purse or money or cards as husband took over all those things and I frankly couldn’t be bovvered with life’s mundanities.

Since being back at work, I’ve had to start dealing with life’s mundanities again. This morning I went to the coffee shop and bought breakfast. I took out the cash from my purse and saw the name Gill Marcus on the note. I had a moment of panic there as the name/signature looked SO fake. Who the heck is Gill Marcus?! Took several nanoseconds for the dots to connect and for me to remember that Gill Marcus is not some Nigerian counterfeiter but that she’s indeed the Governor as it says underneath the signature! I was really panicking as it is the only money I have on me and I was REALLY hungry and they don’t do cards! Real senior moment.

On the health front: Things seem to be looking promising. I def feel stronger and have very little episodes of feeling breathless. I try to do things that requires a bit of energy and more often now but use my breathing as a guide. As soon as I’m aware of my breathing, I stop. My right ear has been blocked for two weeks now and I have an appointment with an ENT and audiologist this week. My GP thinks it’s one of my tablets that I’m on for the heart but my cardio doesn’t think so. That’s why they roped in the ENT guy to adjudicate.  Our house has been a ton of fun with me not being able to hear so well. And my sweet asst nurse has taken to making fun of me asking them to repeat themselves and also getting frustrated with me not hearing him first time, second time and sometimes even third time around! mama, Mama, MAma, MAMa, MAMA!!!

Been lurking on the blogs everyday and commenting where I can. Also been nominating you guys like crazy.

Just one question… while I was in hospital, did you guys have a national MOB? I ask because almost everyone is TTCing or preggers and I wonder if it’s something you all had at this national MOB. Thank goodness, I was in hospital and not at this MOB…  LOL!

44 thoughts on “Who the bleep is Gill Marcus????

  1. shazdart

    LOL on the National MOB!! You are so right there has been a rash of preggies recently. How great that we get to share it all, without doing it ourselves!So glad that you are nearly over the worst. I was very scared for you. xx hugs for Big Tom aka assistant nurse. xx

    Reply
  2. shazdart

    LOL on the National MOB!! You are so right there has been a rash of preggies recently. How great that we get to share it all, without doing it ourselves!So glad that you are nearly over the worst. I was very scared for you. xx hugs for Big Tom aka assistant nurse. xx

    Reply
  3. ludditelass

    When I think of Gill Marcus I always have an image of the only white woman at an ANC meeting wearing a kaftan. Somehow the Governor of the Reserve Bank should be wearing a power suit but that just shows how stereotyped and old-fashioned my thinking is! Glad you are well enough to be back at work – just hope you’re taking it easy. Sorry you can’t hear so well. Hope the ENT can give you some answers.

    Reply
  4. ludditelass

    When I think of Gill Marcus I always have an image of the only white woman at an ANC meeting wearing a kaftan. Somehow the Governor of the Reserve Bank should be wearing a power suit but that just shows how stereotyped and old-fashioned my thinking is! Glad you are well enough to be back at work – just hope you’re taking it easy. Sorry you can’t hear so well. Hope the ENT can give you some answers.

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    I know… Gill always makes me think of Brett Kebble too… a bit of separated at birth! Gill and Naledi Pandor always makes me cringe with their outfits… Gill as you say, always in kaftan or looking like she’s cleaning house and ditto for Naledi. And Naledi’s hair – surely the R100k you earn a month can cover a weave or braids or some treatment to make your own hair look healthy and happy. Her hair always looks sooo sad.

    Reply
  6. rochelle.barrish

    I know… Gill always makes me think of Brett Kebble too… a bit of separated at birth! Gill and Naledi Pandor always makes me cringe with their outfits… Gill as you say, always in kaftan or looking like she’s cleaning house and ditto for Naledi. And Naledi’s hair – surely the R100k you earn a month can cover a weave or braids or some treatment to make your own hair look healthy and happy. Her hair always looks sooo sad.

    Reply
  7. rochelle.barrish

    Hey DD! How’s that bean? You’re excluded from the ‘something in the water’ comment as you were preggers long before this national MOB. LOL!

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    Hey DD! How’s that bean? You’re excluded from the ‘something in the water’ comment as you were preggers long before this national MOB. LOL!

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    It is… what could be better? Going through all the preggie stages with no ickyness visited upon your body! And getting a new Sprog to ooh and aaah about! Thanks for always thinking of me and staying in touch. xx

    Reply
  10. rochelle.barrish

    It is… what could be better? Going through all the preggie stages with no ickyness visited upon your body! And getting a new Sprog to ooh and aaah about! Thanks for always thinking of me and staying in touch. xx

    Reply
  11. bothajs

    Isn’t it wonderfull! New sprogbabies and all.I just HAD to check the Gill Marcus signature, out of 5 notes in my purse, only one R20 is signed by her, all the rest is still Mr Mboweni (so, does this mean I come from “old money”?).

    Reply
  12. bothajs

    Isn’t it wonderfull! New sprogbabies and all.I just HAD to check the Gill Marcus signature, out of 5 notes in my purse, only one R20 is signed by her, all the rest is still Mr Mboweni (so, does this mean I come from “old money”?).

    Reply
  13. nusha

    {{{Shell}}} cos I missed you! πŸ™‚ Glad you’re feeling better overall, but sucks about your blocked ear! Hope the ENT helps! Its a sprogblog baby boom! πŸ™‚ My BFP is elusive thus far … but its only been 3 months … and even though its my second time around its still SO disappointing every time AF arrives!

    Reply
  14. nusha

    {{{Shell}}} cos I missed you! πŸ™‚ Glad you’re feeling better overall, but sucks about your blocked ear! Hope the ENT helps! Its a sprogblog baby boom! πŸ™‚ My BFP is elusive thus far … but its only been 3 months … and even though its my second time around its still SO disappointing every time AF arrives!

    Reply
  15. rebeccav

    Fark, thank goodness I wasn’t at that MOB either ;)Sounds like you’re feeling a lot better! Let’s hope the hearing issue can be corrected, and not a sign of old age πŸ˜€ (Just kidding).Good luck for the ENT! And keep listening to your body! Seems to be working so far :)Nice to see you again πŸ™‚

    Reply
  16. rebeccav

    Fark, thank goodness I wasn’t at that MOB either ;)Sounds like you’re feeling a lot better! Let’s hope the hearing issue can be corrected, and not a sign of old age πŸ˜€ (Just kidding).Good luck for the ENT! And keep listening to your body! Seems to be working so far :)Nice to see you again πŸ™‚

    Reply
  17. jessica.viljoen

    LOL @ a national MOB causing everyone to be TTC or preggy, hehe, cute!Glad u’re feeling better!Look after yourself.xx

    Reply
  18. jessica.viljoen

    LOL @ a national MOB causing everyone to be TTC or preggy, hehe, cute!Glad u’re feeling better!Look after yourself.xx

    Reply
  19. rochelle.barrish

    Yeah. I reckon I can live with a dodgy ear if it means I LIVE. But ja, we’ll see what the outcome is.

    Reply
  20. rochelle.barrish

    Yeah. I reckon I can live with a dodgy ear if it means I LIVE. But ja, we’ll see what the outcome is.

    Reply
  21. rochelle.barrish

    I’m sure Munchkin told her sister/brother to hang TEN already… she’s still enjoying her adoring fans way too much to share just now. xx

    Reply
  22. rochelle.barrish

    I’m sure Munchkin told her sister/brother to hang TEN already… she’s still enjoying her adoring fans way too much to share just now. xx

    Reply
  23. youunlimited

    I haven’t seen any of the notes with her name yet. Then again haven’t really been looking out for it either. Well spotted.So glad you are feeling better and it’s good to listen to your body. I hope the ear thing is just a little water in your ear and nothing serious.

    Reply
  24. youunlimited

    I haven’t seen any of the notes with her name yet. Then again haven’t really been looking out for it either. Well spotted.So glad you are feeling better and it’s good to listen to your body. I hope the ear thing is just a little water in your ear and nothing serious.

    Reply
  25. godsmiracle

    Hey Shell. Hope they sort out your ear soon – I know what it’s like to have a bit of a blocked ear. NOT NICE!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

