Helter skelter, baby’s here.

I was busy washing and packing all Thomas’ baby clothes and stuff for E&I and ‘Bytjie’ these past few days and I was getting all nostalgic and wondering how I could find a way to go deliver the stuff myself and get to meet this special little person…

Today something told me to get into contact with a good friend of mine as we hadn’t chatted for a while. She answered my first SMS with a ‘i have a secret’ and the second SMS with ‘ do you still have T’s bottles’ and on it went until I asked her what she was busy with. Turns out she’s decided to be an emergency foster mom to a month old baby boy who’s mom is a tik addict with 5 children. Scary.

So most of today and tonight was spent getting stuff to her and playing with beautiful boy. Didn’t want to take pics as I’m not sure how she feels about it and she was still very overwhelmed. I’m so proud of her as she is a single mom. Just got back now and besides being tired, I’m incredibly broody!

28 thoughts on “Helter skelter, baby’s here.

  1. rebeccav

    Wow! Great news on your friend helping out like that! I don’t think I have the guts to do something like that, as I’d want to keep all the kids 😦 Broody? No Shell. Don’t go there. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. shazdart

    What an amazing woman! Congratulation to your friend.I did pass on the few baby things I had left to E&I and she can’t wait for her little one to be big enough to fit into them. xx

    Reply
  3. youunlimited

    Aww I love stories like that. When I look at how happy and adjusted baby Nadia is living with my friend it’s hard to remember she was born prem under a tree in a park.

    Reply
  4. Bossy-bootz

    She must be an incredible woman!I just can’t understand how some people can neglect / mistreat their own children.eh eh ehm… maybe it’s time you expand your family? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    Her aunt has this woman’s 3rd child. Other kids are all with foster parents. Mother refuses to formally give them up and refuses to be spayed! Am seriously thinking of expansion…

    Reply
  6. rochelle.barrish

    Ja – her mom shrieked for a full 2 minutes, dropped the phone and was at her door in 5 mins! Overjoyed.

    Reply
  7. rochelle.barrish

    Me too… I remember working at Nazareth house and having to drink lots of glasses of wine when I got home to dull the pain of leaving ‘my babies’ behind. Not to even talk about getting there and the cot you’re wanting to visit is empty due to adoption or Aids related death… Eish, Rebecca… I’m fighting this broodiness… luckily she lives only 20 mins away so I can get my fix fairly easily.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

