30 Days of truth Challenge and Day 1

Tania said: “Hi All, you know how much I love a challenge and I found this on Megan Stow’s blog and thought it was awesome. If you decide to join in, please be so kind as to let her know so she can add your name to her list?

 

“Below is a list spanning 30 days, each day asking a question or setting a topic which must be answered truthfully.  Not as easy as it seems but I’m pretty sure it will be quite therapeutic.

 

Day 01 -> Something you hate about yourself

Day 02 ->  Something you love about yourself

Day 03 -> Something you have to forgive yourself for.
Day 04 ->  Something you have to forgive someone for.
Day 05 ->  Something you hope to do in your life.
Day 06 ->  Something you hope you never have to do.
Day 07 -> Someone who has made your life worth living for.
Day 08 ->  Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.
Day 09 ->  Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.
Day 10 ->  Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.
Day 11 ->  Something people seem to compliment you the most on.
Day 12 ->  Something you never get compliments on.
Day 13 ->  A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)
Day 14 ->  A hero that has let you down. (letter)
Day 15 ->  Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it.
Day 16 ->  Someone or something you definitely could live without.
Day 17 ->  A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.
Day 18 -> Your views on gay marriage.
Day 19 ->  What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?
Day 20 ->  Your views on drugs and alcohol.
Day 21 -> (scenario) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do?
Day 22 ->  Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.
Day 23 ->  Something you wish you had done in your life.
Day 24 ->  Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)
Day 25 ->  The reason you believe you’re still alive today.
Day 26 ->  Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why?
Day 27 ->  What’s the best thing going for you right now?
Day 28 -> What if you were pregnant or got someone pregnant, what would you do?
Day 29 ->  Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.
Day 30 ->  A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself

 

Here goes!

 

DAY 1:

Something you hate about yourself

 

I hate the fact that I always give more than I receive. Way, way more. And that people seem to expect it of me and hardly ever say thank you. Just once, I would like to receive something (husband excluded) that blows my mind. I’m usually very underwhelmed by people’s idea of what I would like. I give with all my heart and that heart is always broken by what I receive back.

 

Now, before the “it’s the thought that counts” people start lynching me . . . I’m not sure a whole lot of thought goes into what I’ve been receiving. So maybe it’s time for me to start shopping at the Crazy R5 store!

27 thoughts on “30 Days of truth Challenge and Day 1

  1. ludditelass

    I understand what you mean. It’s not about the monetary value of the gift at all – it’s about the thought that has gone into choosing a gift for that particular person. For example, I would much prefer to receive a homemade card with a personal message than a bottle of expensive perfume that’s not the one I use.

    Reply
  2. deblet

    I get what you mean,I try to give gifts that I would LOVE to receive.Sometimes even a small thing that is well thought out is better than an expensive WTF gift.My PIL once gave me a fancy coffee percolator…one you bubble up on the gas stove, only problem is I don’t drink coffee.Their other GREAT gift was a pair of pearl earings,beautiful,BUT I don’t have pierced ears!

    Reply
  3. youunlimited

    The 2 best presents I’ve ever recieved from my dad were a set of calligraphy pens for my birthday and a little costume type necklace from his travels as he said he thought of me when he saw it. Usually it was always a check for birthdays and Christmas. These were special as he thought about me in purchasing them. I agree that the thought that goes into a present is the important part.

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    Lucky you, Cams. I mean these are people who’ve known me for years and years. When I do something for you or get something for you,the amount of thought and effort that goes into it is humongous! Why can I not get a fraction of that thought and effort?

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    Lucky you, Cams. I mean these are people who’ve known me for years and years. When I do something for you or get something for you,the amount of thought and effort that goes into it is humongous! Why can I not get a fraction of that thought and effort?

    Reply
  6. parent24ed

    There are some people who are just better at giving gifts and always get it so right. Maybe you are one of those.

    Reply
  7. parent24ed

    There are some people who are just better at giving gifts and always get it so right. Maybe you are one of those.

    Reply
  8. rebeccav

    I also go out of my way to make a gift special! It certainly isn’t how much is spent, but the thought definitely counts for a lot! Anything from my kids is special – as long as they’ve had some input – either drawing in a card, or making something themselves!

    Reply
  9. rebeccav

    I also go out of my way to make a gift special! It certainly isn’t how much is spent, but the thought definitely counts for a lot! Anything from my kids is special – as long as they’ve had some input – either drawing in a card, or making something themselves!

    Reply
  10. Sumanda

    With you on this one. Daar’s natuurlik iets wat erger is as ‘n gag persent. Wanneer hulle nie eens onthou om jou geluk te wens nie. Wat nog te praat van ‘n geskenk.O, en ek het al so veel moeite gedoen met ‘n geskenk net om agterna te hoor hulle het dit van die muur afgehaal omdat hulle ‘n spook daarin gesien het…

    Reply
  11. Sumanda

    With you on this one. Daar’s natuurlik iets wat erger is as ‘n gag persent. Wanneer hulle nie eens onthou om jou geluk te wens nie. Wat nog te praat van ‘n geskenk.O, en ek het al so veel moeite gedoen met ‘n geskenk net om agterna te hoor hulle het dit van die muur afgehaal omdat hulle ‘n spook daarin gesien het…

    Reply
  12. rochelle.barrish

    Wow, I want to swop PILs … Yikes you don’t wanna know what I’ve been given. I didn’t know that gifts could be passive-aggressive until she started buying me gifts!

    Reply
  13. rochelle.barrish

    Wow, I want to swop PILs … Yikes you don’t wanna know what I’ve been given. I didn’t know that gifts could be passive-aggressive until she started buying me gifts!

    Reply
  14. rochelle.barrish

    Yikes. What a waste. My best gift EVER was a photoframe made by a good friend. Simple plankies glued together in a frame. Glue sprinkled on frame. Sand and shells from my favourite beach sprinkled on glue. I still treasure it even though most of the shells have fallen off and the sand is disappearing fast too.

    Reply
  15. rochelle.barrish

    Yikes. What a waste. My best gift EVER was a photoframe made by a good friend. Simple plankies glued together in a frame. Glue sprinkled on frame. Sand and shells from my favourite beach sprinkled on glue. I still treasure it even though most of the shells have fallen off and the sand is disappearing fast too.

    Reply
  16. tania.roux

    Wow. You hit the nail on the head! I said exactly the same thing to my husband tonight. I’m just sick of giving and giving and feeling like people don’t see it or appreciate it.

    Reply
  17. tania.roux

    Wow. You hit the nail on the head! I said exactly the same thing to my husband tonight. I’m just sick of giving and giving and feeling like people don’t see it or appreciate it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

