Day 20 – Your views on drugs and alcohol.

Heavy.

Drugs – Unlike Bill Clinton, I am not going to say that I smoked but did not inhale. I was a student, I was in Res. Life was good.

BUT then I grew up.

My younger brother is in Pollsmoor prison because of his dependency on drugs. So I know first-hand what drugs can do to a person. I think the drugs killed him years ago. His body is somehow holding on and I don’t know the person who is inhabiting his body at the moment but it is definitely not my brother.

Alcohol – I was a student. I was in Res. Life was good. BUT I grew up and had a child . . . Therefore I still drink – for my nerve.

I have several alcoholics in my extended family. Some of them are recovering while others refuse to admit they have a problem.

So I guess what I am trying to say is, I stay away from drugs . . . it’s just not worth it. And when it comes to alcohol, I try to remember the “in moderation” bit.

24 thoughts on “Day 20 – Your views on drugs and alcohol.

  1. ludditelass

    Sjoe, I’m so sorry drug and alcohol abuse have impacted your family. Drug and alcohol abuse are destructive not only for the abuser but for the people around them too.

    Reply
  2. ludditelass

    Sjoe, I’m so sorry drug and alcohol abuse have impacted your family. Drug and alcohol abuse are destructive not only for the abuser but for the people around them too.

    Reply
  3. rochelle.barrish

    Hehehe – your kids are obviously easy on you. Have made peace with boet’s choices years ago. As I said, I think he died years ago so we’re just waiting for the call to say “Come bury him”.

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    Hehehe – your kids are obviously easy on you. Have made peace with boet’s choices years ago. As I said, I think he died years ago so we’re just waiting for the call to say “Come bury him”.

    Reply
  5. rebeccav

    Drugs are bad news! I’m glad I experimented and didn’t like :)I had my fair share of alcohol too – now I rarely drink. One hangover with a toddler (when Tristan was small) was enough to put me off for life! Hubby drinks enough for both of us πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. rebeccav

    Drugs are bad news! I’m glad I experimented and didn’t like :)I had my fair share of alcohol too – now I rarely drink. One hangover with a toddler (when Tristan was small) was enough to put me off for life! Hubby drinks enough for both of us πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

