Day 24 – Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)

To Thomas the Tank:

1) Cat Stevens – Moonshadow

 (This was one of my favourite’s from childhood so I had to introduce you to it)

2) Eva Cassidy – Fields of gold

(Loved Sting’s version best until I had you and heard Eva’s version)

3) Dixie Chicks – Lullaby

(“How long do you wanna be loved? Is forever enough?” – Just beautiful when you say “yes, Mama”)

4) Miracle Drug – U2

(there’s a line in here “Freedom has a scent like the top of a newborn baby’s head” – makes me think of the first time I smelt you)

5) Motherland – Natalie Merchant

(My best memory of this song is those nights when it was just you and me in the breastfeeding chair. You suckling and me crying quiet tears of joy and fulfilment)

6) Million Kisses – Fairground Attraction

(Because our first kiss was the first of a million kisses)

7) Halleluja – Jeff Buckley version

(because you don’t like the Leonard Cohen one)

8) Beautiful Day – U2

(Remember when we danced like Bono and you had just started walking and kept on tripping because the Bono kicks were too much for your unstable stubby legs?)

9) Freefalling – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

(Your “fleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, fleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeefalling cracks me up everytime!)

10) Amie – Damien Rice (The line “Amie come sit on my wall” – makes you recall the Humpty Dumpty story everytime you hear this song)

I’m not doing a letter, am at work and will start bawling if I have to write a letter.

These are our songs. Has so much meaning for us and the way you sing the lyrics you like is too divine.

20 thoughts on “Day 24 – Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)

  1. ludditelass

    Oh wow, what a fabulous playlist! The Cat Stevens album Teaser and the Firecat was one of my childhood favourites but I would be hard pressed to pick one favourite track – I loved them all including Moonshadow. My dad had the LP and I always wanted to play it on the record player.

    Reply
  2. ludditelass

    Oh wow, what a fabulous playlist! The Cat Stevens album Teaser and the Firecat was one of my childhood favourites but I would be hard pressed to pick one favourite track – I loved them all including Moonshadow. My dad had the LP and I always wanted to play it on the record player.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

