NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! YAY!

Yes boys and girls! At the ripe old age of 2 years and 11 months. We are finally nappy free night and day!

If he falls asleep before his last wee at night we slip a night nappy on but it’s always dry in the morning and the second he wakes up, he’s dashing for the loo.

I really like how our laissez-faire approach to potty training has paid off. He was being trained at school primarily and we followed up at home but did not push him and didn’t make too big a fuss of accidents. We rewarded good potty behaviour and commisserated if there were any accidents.

We also pushed the whole big boy thing. Big Boy bed, big boy clothes, big boy shoes and big boys don’t wear nappies. He is so over being a baby, it worked like a charm.

Yay for us. Now, where is the money I’m supposed to be saving from not buying nappies going? I still don’t see it.

PS: We have a retro style clock that we set for every hour and when the alarm bell rings . . . POTTY TIME! POTTY TIME! POTTY TIME! He drops everything he’s doing and it’s a mad dash for the loo. So sweet.

50 thoughts on “NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! NAPPY FREE! YAY!

  1. rochelle.barrish

    We don’t venture where there are no loo’s. When we’re out and about he asks to go the loo and daddy takes him. I am (sadly) no longer allowed to go to the loo with him. “Only boys can go in here, Mama.”

    Reply
  2. rochelle.barrish

    We don’t venture where there are no loo’s. When we’re out and about he asks to go the loo and daddy takes him. I am (sadly) no longer allowed to go to the loo with him. “Only boys can go in here, Mama.”

    Reply
  3. rebeccav

    *green*That’s great news! I’m gatvol of “Big Boy” encouragement! Although he did cut his dummy with scissors on Sunday. Lucky my mom called to tell me and I bought 2 new ones. He still insists big boys don’t need dummies. Ja right. What. Ever.Potty training? Can wait until creche. He tells me he wants to pee in the loo and does it. IF he’s in the bathroom. Otherwise, nappies are still good.

    Reply
  4. rebeccav

    *green*That’s great news! I’m gatvol of “Big Boy” encouragement! Although he did cut his dummy with scissors on Sunday. Lucky my mom called to tell me and I bought 2 new ones. He still insists big boys don’t need dummies. Ja right. What. Ever.Potty training? Can wait until creche. He tells me he wants to pee in the loo and does it. IF he’s in the bathroom. Otherwise, nappies are still good.

    Reply
  5. bothajs

    Yippie!! Well done, Thomas.Minki is at the same stage now, I let her take her naps without her nappy, she wakes up dry. Still a bit uneasy for no nappy at night time, but she also wakes up dry as a bone. Maybe I should just take the step and leave out the night nappy (you gave me some hope).Now for that darn dummy!

    Reply
  6. bothajs

    Yippie!! Well done, Thomas.Minki is at the same stage now, I let her take her naps without her nappy, she wakes up dry. Still a bit uneasy for no nappy at night time, but she also wakes up dry as a bone. Maybe I should just take the step and leave out the night nappy (you gave me some hope).Now for that darn dummy!

    Reply
  7. ebonyandivory

    Well done to you!! Where is that nappy money going to I wonder?? lol. sounds like something to see, that dashing for the loo.

    Reply
  8. ebonyandivory

    Well done to you!! Where is that nappy money going to I wonder?? lol. sounds like something to see, that dashing for the loo.

    Reply
  9. ebonyandivory

    Well done to you!! Where is that nappy money going to I wonder?? lol. sounds like something to see, that dashing for the loo.

    Reply
  10. ebonyandivory

    Well done to you!! Where is that nappy money going to I wonder?? lol. sounds like something to see, that dashing for the loo.

    Reply
  11. youunlimited

    Oh wow Shell! Awesome news. He must be feeling so proud of himself. Am impressed that he is off the night nappy too.

    Reply
  12. youunlimited

    Oh wow Shell! Awesome news. He must be feeling so proud of himself. Am impressed that he is off the night nappy too.

    Reply
  13. ludditelass

    Somehow I missed this post. Yay for nappy-free Thomas! Not stressing about toilet training is definitely the way to go.

    Reply
  14. ludditelass

    Somehow I missed this post. Yay for nappy-free Thomas! Not stressing about toilet training is definitely the way to go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

