Unfriendly suburbs.

I have this theory, that certain places are just more unfriendly than others and some are just too friendly…

I grew up on the Cape Flats – decidedly hostile

Went to school in Muizenberg – loads of fun, very welcoming, easy-going and such a cool mix of people. Made the most lasting friendships ever there.

Spent my studying years in the Northern suburbs of CT – stayed on my side of the line and things were pretty ok. Ventured over the line and stopped just short of having to call people “baas and mies” – but there are of course exceptions to everything. (Just look at Debs, Shazzie, Tania and whoever else from there who is reading this).

My years after studying in Bo Kaap – lovely, homely – almost felt like a home-coming

and Kenilworth – very friendly and accomodating –  everyone in my neighbourhood bent over backwards to accomodate the newbie in town and I couldn’t keep up with the invites

and in Tamboerskloof – heck life was just one big party.

Once I got married we lived in Pinelands – YAWWWN – wow we were the youngest by centuries in our area but the fogies were very kind and I think they turned off their hearing aids when we had our parties.

We then moved to where we are now which is in Devil’s Peak’s shadow below the mountain. Lovely suburb, crazy bergies, eccentric hippies and loads more salt of the Earth people.

I won’t mention the unfriendly places in the Southern Suburbs as I might just have a whole lot of unfollows and unfriends. SS people don’t laugh at themselves half as much as they should.

What are your experiences of certain suburbs?

32 thoughts on “Unfriendly suburbs.

  1. jeanihess

    Ha ha:) You mean like Claremont and Rondebosch and Newlands and such? And it is not as though Muizenberg falls over its feet to smile as broadly as the sharks do either!

    Reply
  2. jeanihess

    Ha ha:) You mean like Claremont and Rondebosch and Newlands and such? And it is not as though Muizenberg falls over its feet to smile as broadly as the sharks do either!

    Reply
  3. tania.roux

    Hehe, love how you say the ‘SS’!I totally agree, every suburb has it’s own crowd and your observations are spot-on as usual!

    Reply
  4. tania.roux

    Hehe, love how you say the ‘SS’!I totally agree, every suburb has it’s own crowd and your observations are spot-on as usual!

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    Ah Jeanius, I’m going to have to introduce you to my people there. But I agree, a lot of people there just stopped short of pelting our schoolbus with rotten eggs and tomatoes when the whole Model C school thing started. Hectic at times.

    Reply
  6. rochelle.barrish

    Ah Jeanius, I’m going to have to introduce you to my people there. But I agree, a lot of people there just stopped short of pelting our schoolbus with rotten eggs and tomatoes when the whole Model C school thing started. Hectic at times.

    Reply
  7. rebeccav

    I definitely agree on the suburbs thing, although I have no idea of where you are talking about πŸ™‚ It’s the same here in JHB! But I also won’t give my opinions of specific areas πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. rebeccav

    I definitely agree on the suburbs thing, although I have no idea of where you are talking about πŸ™‚ It’s the same here in JHB! But I also won’t give my opinions of specific areas πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. FoxieRox

    I lived in vredehoek and then gardens (just mere steps away from the ‘vibrant at 3am’ engen garage on orange street) – both of these suburbs were great and just party party party!Joburg is very similar with different vibes for different suburbs.

    Reply
  10. FoxieRox

    I lived in vredehoek and then gardens (just mere steps away from the ‘vibrant at 3am’ engen garage on orange street) – both of these suburbs were great and just party party party!Joburg is very similar with different vibes for different suburbs.

    Reply
  11. shazdart

    Thanks you for mentioning the exceptions! The majority of the people living in my area are Afrikaans, some nearly AWB so when the first “coloured” people moved in they were made to feel very uncomfortable. Jess and I are now the “badies” in the street because we associate with them and their children are “allowed” in our home!!! I think prejudice is alive and well in this part of CT.Needless to say, if I had more money I would not be living here, we make the best of a bad situation. Hugs. xx

    Reply
  12. shazdart

    Thanks you for mentioning the exceptions! The majority of the people living in my area are Afrikaans, some nearly AWB so when the first “coloured” people moved in they were made to feel very uncomfortable. Jess and I are now the “badies” in the street because we associate with them and their children are “allowed” in our home!!! I think prejudice is alive and well in this part of CT.Needless to say, if I had more money I would not be living here, we make the best of a bad situation. Hugs. xx

    Reply
  13. durbangal

    We currently live in a very friendly neighbourhood which I love – we even have braais in the park as a community : )

    Reply
  14. durbangal

    We currently live in a very friendly neighbourhood which I love – we even have braais in the park as a community : )

    Reply
  15. ludditelass

    I love Obs! I love the eclectic mix of people and the vibe of students, artists, professionals, families and tourists. I love the mountain and the river. I love the Victorian houses and the community spirit. I love the warnings that go out on the neighbourhood watch google group: “Crazy Colin is wearing a skirt and no underpants outside the library.”

    Reply
  16. ludditelass

    I love Obs! I love the eclectic mix of people and the vibe of students, artists, professionals, families and tourists. I love the mountain and the river. I love the Victorian houses and the community spirit. I love the warnings that go out on the neighbourhood watch google group: “Crazy Colin is wearing a skirt and no underpants outside the library.”

    Reply
  17. rochelle.barrish

    Oh my word! Forgot all about Crazy Colin. A housemate let Colin sleep in his bakkie one winter… Great fun to “de-Colin” the bakkie when we headed off on jaunts!

    Reply
  18. rochelle.barrish

    Oh my word! Forgot all about Crazy Colin. A housemate let Colin sleep in his bakkie one winter… Great fun to “de-Colin” the bakkie when we headed off on jaunts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

