Suck up the mommy-guilt or go Amish?

I’m on leave.

I like being on leave because I’m the bestest mom/me/wife I know.

I can cook, clean, bake, make, create, fix and just be fabulous.

I like this me.

I don’t like the tired, haggard, grumpy, meanie person I am when I come home from work.

So I’ve done some thinking.

I’m going to have to either suck up the mommy-guilt or in my case soak it in litres of wine, or go Amish.

My idea of going Amish looks a bit like this.

No DStv, no Telkom, no cellphones, no ADSL, no maid, no pre-school, no extramurals, no parties, no Spur, no Primi, no Wimpy, no Mugg &Bean, no malls, no Naartjie, no Keedo, no Woolies (EEEKKK), no Earthchild, no Animale, no Aquarium, no World of birds, no Clay cafe, no Scratch Patch, no nursery visits, no Treehouse (EEEKKK), no Reggies, no Toys R Us.

But it also means, lots of time with son, building/playing/making/baking/creating/walking/playing in parks. Basically doing what I signed up to do. Have a child and be a PARENT. Not have a child and fob it off on someone else for 10 hours a day.

Hmmm . . . Tough one. And I’m ashamed to admit, a decision that I am not ready to make yet. Will just make the most of our time together.

10 thoughts on “Suck up the mommy-guilt or go Amish?

  1. rebeccav

    Oh no, I couldn’t go without Woolies 😦 I could maybe live without the rest. I’m so used to not having my kids here, that I don’t know what to do when they are here! Sad state of affairs.Just enjoy it while you can, and look forward to your next holiday 🙂

    Reply
  2. rebeccav

    Oh no, I couldn’t go without Woolies 😦 I could maybe live without the rest. I’m so used to not having my kids here, that I don’t know what to do when they are here! Sad state of affairs.Just enjoy it while you can, and look forward to your next holiday 🙂

    Reply
  3. ludditelass

    Ooh! That mummy-guilt is a sneaky thing. Give it a little space to creep in and it’s everywhere, it’s everywhere. Holidays don’t just give you time to be fabulous they give you time to let the guilt in! You’re a great mum – banish the guilt and leave the Amish thing to people who live in Pennsylvania.

    Reply
  4. ludditelass

    Ooh! That mummy-guilt is a sneaky thing. Give it a little space to creep in and it’s everywhere, it’s everywhere. Holidays don’t just give you time to be fabulous they give you time to let the guilt in! You’re a great mum – banish the guilt and leave the Amish thing to people who live in Pennsylvania.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

