Facebook relationship statuses.

I have this theory about Facebook relationship statuses.

Judging from my FB stream, I think people should treat new relationships much like a pregnancy. For the first 12 weeks, just tell those who need to know (your very close family and friends). Because this is the most tricky part of a pregnancy when miscarriages are more likely to occur.

Same goes for relationships. Keep it small and intimate until you’re over the worst of the danger period, then take an ad out in every paper in every country if that is your wish. . . but before that, for Pete’s sake . . . PLEASE keep it on the ‘low-down’.

My FB stream is littered with failed relationships that last just a few weeks. Quite sad, actually. One week it’s “Brad is da best ting dat’s eva happnd 2 me!” and “Bradley Josephs is my soulmate.” and the next I see it’s “Brad is a d**s and “Brad mus die.”

Yikes!

* I am by no means saying the pain of a failed pregnancy is the same as the pain of a failed relationship of any kind. Have first-hand experience of both and I know it’s vastly different.

23 thoughts on “Facebook relationship statuses.

  1. deids13

    I have noticed a trend on my fb stream. Couples who start posting lovey-dovey messages to one another often end up changing their relationship statuses to “its complicated” a week or two later! It’s like they are going out of their way to make people think everything is ok when clearly it’s not.

    Reply
  2. deblet

    LOL luv da slang!so kewl,ja got it rht!So get the announcing thing early,have a friend who has had multiple miscarriages and has just announced she is 7 wks,think I would have waited a bit until that baby was well and truely planted

    Reply
  3. rochelle.barrish

    hahaha. I had to go into my little sis’ profile to get the slang right! I know it’s really exciting and stuff but… hold yerself back, woman!

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish

    SOOOOOOO true. I’ve had two couples do that in my stream too. It’s as if they’re clutching at straws to fix it then it jus all falls apart.

    Reply
  5. rochelle.barrish

    SOOOOOOO true. I’ve had two couples do that in my stream too. It’s as if they’re clutching at straws to fix it then it jus all falls apart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

