Why I’ll never be rich

I had a really hectic dream last night: Heard a noise in the house, realised an intruder was there, fought with intruder, got gun off him, choked him with all my might while DH tried to find rope to tie him up, then woke up an couldn’t sleep further.

While laying awake, my mind turned to money matters (as it is wont to do at that time of the morning!).

I tried to figure out why I still have to worry about money at my age. In my head, I should be very comfortable financially by now. I should be close to retirement, dammit. Not still working for a salary. Anyhoo, seeing as that pipedream is going to stay in my head, I have to devise plans to hold on to my money for longer and also spend less.

Besides the obvious spending too much and earning less than I spend… I realised I need to be more assertive when it comes to people who owe me money.

I tend to be the one in the group (read family and acquaintances – not close friends) who pays for someone who don’t have money right now, or forgot their wallet, or haven’t drawn cash yet.

Now most people will remember this and pay you back, right? Not in my life.

I also tend to be the one to get wood, charcoal, ice, snacks, blah for everyone because we’ve found a bargain, we’re early, we have less places to go to. And I usually call to say I’m here can we get you as well and the answer is always a resounding yes.

Most people will pay you back once you tell them you got ice/wood/wine/snacks or whatever for the group as it was reasonably priced or you knew they were going to be late if they also had to get it, right? Not in my life.

And because I don’t want to nag for what is owed to me, I let it go. Stoopid, right?

And my absolute fave is going to a party or hosting one where you bring your good wine and everyone drinks and parties and at the end of the night you are left with none of the good wine and someone else’s plonk. Now if you’re going to bring plonk, why don’t you drink it? For why you drink my good wine? Aaargh!

I have some friends who are trustfund babies or who are way more comfortable financially and they have no problem with letting you know that you owe them R1,50 or R150 whatever it may be.

Until I can be like those friends of mine… I will never be rich. Not even winning the Lotto would help me.

Am I the only poor sucker?

PS: I have decided to become as miserly as old scrooge himself. Reading this again has cured me from my stupidity.

26 thoughts on “Why I’ll never be rich

  1. shazdart

    Me too!!!!!!I am the fool who says yes when actually I would like to tell you to !@%$ off!!I have a friend who does the “can you call in at Spar on your way and just pick up…., I’ll give the money when you get here” and then she just says thanks very much and packs away the weeks groceries that I bought.They have TWO salaries to my ONE salary….you are so right reading this does cure you.No more Mrs “yes of course”, we can stand together on this one Shell. xx hugs. xx

    Reply
  2. danile

    i dont have a problem with helping people out, but I expect to be paid back on the day you promised to. If that doesn’t happen I’ll never help you out again. I don’t go for the I buy for everyone and you’ll pay me later cos in my experience the payin glater never happens with me either!you are on the right path Shell, dont let people abuse your friendliness and helpful nature.

    Reply
  3. danile

    i dont have a problem with helping people out, but I expect to be paid back on the day you promised to. If that doesn’t happen I’ll never help you out again. I don’t go for the I buy for everyone and you’ll pay me later cos in my experience the payin glater never happens with me either!you are on the right path Shell, dont let people abuse your friendliness and helpful nature.

    Reply
  4. ludditelass

    You need some assertiveness training, girlfriend! πŸ˜‰ And it’s not miserly to expect people to pay their own way if they can. It’s one thing to decide to help someone who you know can’t afford to do something, it’s quite another to be taken advantage of by others. I know I’m very happy if someone reminds me that I owe them money (doesn’t happen very often) because if I haven’t paid you back it’s because I have completely forgotten. πŸ˜‰ Perhaps your circle of family/acquaintances are just as loskop as me.

    Reply
  5. ludditelass

    You need some assertiveness training, girlfriend! πŸ˜‰ And it’s not miserly to expect people to pay their own way if they can. It’s one thing to decide to help someone who you know can’t afford to do something, it’s quite another to be taken advantage of by others. I know I’m very happy if someone reminds me that I owe them money (doesn’t happen very often) because if I haven’t paid you back it’s because I have completely forgotten. πŸ˜‰ Perhaps your circle of family/acquaintances are just as loskop as me.

    Reply
  6. Schneeflocke

    i know this all to well…but i stopped a little.I have had the friend that forgot the wallet.I have had the friend not so long ago, had a holiday break with me and didnt pay for anyyyyy meals, that were eaten out of my home…not once, not even to say thanx for inviting me over…not even the entrance fees…she is a single high flyer in the coperate world….me im a SAHM. I have paid drinks and said next round is urs only for that person not do it….a person who thought I would give/lend her my baby’s stuff…becasue they dont believe in brand new things for their first born…they are 2 big earners, go on yacht cruises, fancy holidays and have 2cars and a big home….well i didnt budge on this one πŸ™‚ sorry she is also the person that takes home every reciept , even after a coffee. in the end we are the stoopid people, they are very very clever indeed!

    Reply
  7. Schneeflocke

    i know this all to well…but i stopped a little.I have had the friend that forgot the wallet.I have had the friend not so long ago, had a holiday break with me and didnt pay for anyyyyy meals, that were eaten out of my home…not once, not even to say thanx for inviting me over…not even the entrance fees…she is a single high flyer in the coperate world….me im a SAHM. I have paid drinks and said next round is urs only for that person not do it….a person who thought I would give/lend her my baby’s stuff…becasue they dont believe in brand new things for their first born…they are 2 big earners, go on yacht cruises, fancy holidays and have 2cars and a big home….well i didnt budge on this one πŸ™‚ sorry she is also the person that takes home every reciept , even after a coffee. in the end we are the stoopid people, they are very very clever indeed!

    Reply
  8. rochelle.barrish

    Yiikes!I hated the baby thing. Just because I had a baby before you does not mean that you can automatically have my child’s stuff. It is stuff I bought my child with my hard-earned money and there are certain things I want to keep forever. The rest I gave to baby homes and close friends.

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    Yiikes!I hated the baby thing. Just because I had a baby before you does not mean that you can automatically have my child’s stuff. It is stuff I bought my child with my hard-earned money and there are certain things I want to keep forever. The rest I gave to baby homes and close friends.

    Reply
  10. deblet

    A guy a while back who came to quote us on something…asked if Hubbie and I were ‘trust fund’ kids as we were both home and told us we appeared to be wealthy…..if only!

    Reply
  11. deblet

    A guy a while back who came to quote us on something…asked if Hubbie and I were ‘trust fund’ kids as we were both home and told us we appeared to be wealthy…..if only!

    Reply
  12. bothajs

    Ee – my little sister do the “please on your way here bring me a 2lit milk, bread and tomatoes” and I feel too icky to ask her for the money.

    Reply
  13. bothajs

    Ee – my little sister do the “please on your way here bring me a 2lit milk, bread and tomatoes” and I feel too icky to ask her for the money.

    Reply
  14. rochelle.barrish

    Ja and that is why we will never retire to the Bahamas… we feel too icky to ask for the money whereas people rolling in it who could prolly retire to the Bahamas remind you when you owe them R1,50!

    Reply
  15. rochelle.barrish

    Ja and that is why we will never retire to the Bahamas… we feel too icky to ask for the money whereas people rolling in it who could prolly retire to the Bahamas remind you when you owe them R1,50!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

