Hibiscus memories . . .

My Ouma had the best garden in her street. People used to come ‘shop’in her garden for weddings, 21st’s and other functions where blums were needed.

My favourite spot in her garden was under the row of hibiscus trees. She had a red one, yellow one and two pink ones. I used to spend hours daydreaming under those trees. And when her beloved German Shepherd wanted time out from everyone else, he would join me.

I love hibiscus trees and flowers. Ouma used to pick a dropped flower and stick it in my hair or behind my ear depending on the length of the stem. She used to call me Ouma se blompot.

Whenever I see a hibiscus tree or flower all those lovely memories of my childhood come rushing back.

We’ve been househunting since November last year and I just couldn’t find anything that ‘spoke’ to me.

I’ve always liked Muizenberg. I went to school there, I rediscovered my childhood there and it was the first time after Mom and Ouma died that I was allowed to be a child again. Dad had remarried and we were finally settling down as a family. I could be a kid again and not be co-parent to my younger siblings. It was glorious! Some of my best memories were made there.

So I found myself drawn more to that side of the world as we were househunting. The second place we went to look at had two hibiscus trees in the back garden. A pink one and a red one. And the neighbours have a yellow one.

That was that for me. My sign that I should live there.

Oh and the house? It is beautiful. A duplex in a small security complex. High walls. Electric fencing and most importantly… 2,5 bathrooms! So no more wet toiletseats and floors for me! The boys can have their loo’s and I will have mine.

Yay us.

20 thoughts on “Hibiscus memories . . .

  1. shazdart

    That is wonderful!! So when does the big move take place? I too have to have places speak to me, sometimes they just scream of course!!Lotsa hugs. xx

    Reply
  2. shazdart

    That is wonderful!! So when does the big move take place? I too have to have places speak to me, sometimes they just scream of course!!Lotsa hugs. xx

    Reply
  3. Michellesehoekie

    Aah ek is ook mal oor hibuscus blomme! So bly julle het ‘n huis gekry waarvan julle hou – dis altyd so ‘n moeilike besluit. Sterkte met die groot trek!

    Reply
  4. Michellesehoekie

    Aah ek is ook mal oor hibuscus blomme! So bly julle het ‘n huis gekry waarvan julle hou – dis altyd so ‘n moeilike besluit. Sterkte met die groot trek!

    Reply
  5. deblet

    Oh yipee yah…so happy for you.Amazing how childhood memories can affect a decision like buying a house.Double yah for 2 loos!

    Reply
  6. deblet

    Oh yipee yah…so happy for you.Amazing how childhood memories can affect a decision like buying a house.Double yah for 2 loos!

    Reply
  7. ludditelass

    What a wonderful sign that this is meant to be your new home! And I’m so with you on having 2 loos. That would be the main requirement of any house that we moved to now.

    Reply
  8. Kasc

    Yay! I have similar memories of my Ouma’s house and would definitely buy a place based on her hibiscus and frangipangi trees!

    Reply
  9. rochelle.barrish

    Haha, glad you understand my untold joy at no longer having to hear: Mama, are you finished? I need to wee/poopoo!

    Reply
  10. bothajs

    For me it was the lemon tree. My mom had a lemon tree in every single place she ever, ever lived – when I saw a lemon tree in the backyard, I bought the house on the spot. And now, after 10 years in my home, it has grown to 4 lemon trees.

    Reply
  11. youunlimited

    Fantastic news! I too have very fond memories of Hibiscus trees from my childhood. Did you also turn the flowers over and ‘undress the princess’?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

