MIA

So I’ve been missing in action. Wow, lots have happened since I was last here. I’m just doing an update so I can wrap my head around things. No need to read everything, I know you guys are busy!

On 28 April the day of the big move finally happened. Removals van arrived promptly at 9 and we were kneedeep in boxes at our new house by 11! There was a moment when we thought we’d have to sleep on just our mattress as our bed base wouldn’t fit up the stairs . . . even if we removed the balustrades. My superduper dad came to the rescue and sort of sawed a bit off the base, took it up the stairs and assembled the base in our bedroom!

We were just settling in nicely and unpacking when DH decided to collapse. Long story short, he was diagnosed with pulmonary arterial hypertension (highblood pressure in the lungs). All fine now, as long as he stays on meds.

We’re loving our new house. Big Tom is loving his new school. He’s the tallest and biggest in build in his class (the rest of the 4yr olds are sort of tiny). So he plays with the kids in the 5 yr old class and thinks he’s 5. The favourite new terms are:

“That makes no sense”
“I knoooow!”
“Don’t talk to me!”

We live in a nice little complex of 12 townhouses with electric fencing (that and the hibiscus trees in the backyard persuaded me), with a looong driveway between the 6 units on the left and the 6 units on the right. The kids use this space to play, run wild, ride bikes, play ball and all sorts of other shenanigans. He also dashes across the way to his new buddy’s house and vice versa. So convenient.

I’ve just had a birthday and am starting to feel every one of my 36 years! Eish. Yiiikes.

25 thoughts on “MIA

  1. Helen_77

    I remember your story about the Hibiscus tree and the special place it had in your heart (or do I?)Glad Big Tom is loving school. When we checked out schools for Liam I also noticed that he is a head taller than his group and also talks better. Yippeee, proud mum with bragging rights. Phew on DH, glad he’s alright, must watch for that.36 years??? * sigh*

    Reply
  2. deids13

    Happy Birthday! We are also in a small complex where the children play in the common areas. It is so lovely for them, and they’ve formed a nice little group. I’m sure Tom is going to love being there!

    Reply
  3. deids13

    Happy Birthday! We are also in a small complex where the children play in the common areas. It is so lovely for them, and they’ve formed a nice little group. I’m sure Tom is going to love being there!

    Reply
  4. nusha

    Happy Birthday!!! 36 is not old πŸ™‚ Glad hubby is better, that must have been so scary! I get “don’t talk to me” as well … that or “no, don’t talk, i’m watching TV” when HRH Munchkin thinks we’re being too loud! πŸ™‚ Sounds like the new place is awesome … great that Tom has friends and nice safe place to play.

    Reply
  5. nusha

    Happy Birthday!!! 36 is not old πŸ™‚ Glad hubby is better, that must have been so scary! I get “don’t talk to me” as well … that or “no, don’t talk, i’m watching TV” when HRH Munchkin thinks we’re being too loud! πŸ™‚ Sounds like the new place is awesome … great that Tom has friends and nice safe place to play.

    Reply
  6. c.boshoff

    Happy bday! I hope hubbs is feeling better. Sounds like Tom is doing great. I was thinking just this morning about you. Glad you’re back.

    Reply
  7. c.boshoff

    Happy bday! I hope hubbs is feeling better. Sounds like Tom is doing great. I was thinking just this morning about you. Glad you’re back.

    Reply
  8. bothajs

    “That makes no sense”? Where they get this stuff only they will know :)Minki’s new one – “Antwoord my!” Kills me everytime.

    Reply
  9. bothajs

    “That makes no sense”? Where they get this stuff only they will know :)Minki’s new one – “Antwoord my!” Kills me everytime.

    Reply
  10. PurpleDiamond

    Must have been a big shock when Hubby collapsed!! Sjo, hope he gets better really soon!Glad the move went well and that Big Tom is adjusting well to his school and loves his new friends!

    Reply
  11. PurpleDiamond

    Must have been a big shock when Hubby collapsed!! Sjo, hope he gets better really soon!Glad the move went well and that Big Tom is adjusting well to his school and loves his new friends!

    Reply
  12. ludditelass

    Glad the move went well and that Big Tom is happy in his new school. So sorry about your DH’s collapse but so glad he’s fine as long as he takes his meds. Belated happy birthday – enjoy being 36!

    Reply
  13. ludditelass

    Glad the move went well and that Big Tom is happy in his new school. So sorry about your DH’s collapse but so glad he’s fine as long as he takes his meds. Belated happy birthday – enjoy being 36!

    Reply
  14. crey

    How awesome tha Big Tom has a friend just opposite you! It will be source of great memories for him one day :).Now, I must call you Auntie Shell – lol! No, girl! 36 is still young!

    Reply
  15. crey

    How awesome tha Big Tom has a friend just opposite you! It will be source of great memories for him one day :).Now, I must call you Auntie Shell – lol! No, girl! 36 is still young!

    Reply
  16. shazdart

    Oh boy, just realised that I am 18 years older than you, yikes…I could be your Mother!!!Loads of love and hugs for you all.xx

    Reply
  17. shazdart

    Oh boy, just realised that I am 18 years older than you, yikes…I could be your Mother!!!Loads of love and hugs for you all.xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

