Then someone died . . .

Being an honest parent Take Two:

My stepmom’s youngest brother died last weekend. He is being buried tomorrow morning . . .

Me: Thomas, remember we have to go to uncle Poen’s funeral tomorrow, eh? Remember he died and now we have to say goodbye to him.
BT:Yes I remember. He died?
Me: Yes, remember how I said when people die we put their bodies in the ground and we give their souls back to God.
BT: Yes. So we going to give uncle Poen back to God tomorrow?

Me: Yes and say thank you for giving him to us for a bit. But people will be calling him Freddie because that was his name.
BT: Oh so his name is Freddie like my name is Thomas. And Poen is what people call him? Like you call me Beebee?

Me: Yes my boy. And remember to give Ma a big hug as she is very sad because her brother died.

BT: Ok Mama, I will give Ma the best hug and tell her uncle Poen is going back to God.

Shoeeee, that went way better than the chicken drama!

20 thoughts on “Then someone died . . .

  1. shazdart

    Amazing boy! Well done on discussing a difficult concept and my condolences to you and your family. A sad time for you all. xx hugs xx

    Reply
  2. shazdart

    Amazing boy! Well done on discussing a difficult concept and my condolences to you and your family. A sad time for you all. xx hugs xx

    Reply
  3. Our-Journey-To-Parenthood

    Well done on explaining it so well, I think it is very important for children to understand the concept of death. Condolences to you and your family xx

    Reply
  4. bothajs

    Ah, sweet Thomas.Makes me remember my mom’s funeral (actually memorial service, cremation) – little nephew (then 7) rocks up @ church with toilet paper strips hanging out his ears “want hy wil nie hoor as hulle vir Ouma gaan brand nie”! Shame…

    Reply
  5. crey

    You have the most awesome way of explaining death. Mind if I “steal” it? I tried explaining it to Shaun a few months ago with my uncles funeral. But, it was akward, because I wasn’t prepared for his very direct questions. Thomas sounds like a very grown up little 4year old. And oh, so sweet!

    Reply
  6. crey

    You have the most awesome way of explaining death. Mind if I “steal” it? I tried explaining it to Shaun a few months ago with my uncles funeral. But, it was akward, because I wasn’t prepared for his very direct questions. Thomas sounds like a very grown up little 4year old. And oh, so sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

