In my next life . . .

I am going to be a SAHM. I’m going to drop out of school as soon as the government lets me. Going to find my DH. And am going to pop babies out like a sister wife!

I realised anew this week that I’ve been had.

Being a career-girl is not all it’s cracked up to be. Yes you can afford more stuff. Yes you can be independly wealthy (no I’m not there yet) and yes you don’t have to stay if he gives you crap.

Trying to break through the glass-ceiling is also not all it’s cracked up to be. As long as human beings are human beings, the glass-celing will exist. The brotherhood/ boys club mentality runs deep in men. I think it’s in their DNA, actually.

And feminism . . . oh feminism… What’s wrong with finding a decent man, like mine and the many others out there and being his barefoot and pregnant wench? I can’t think of anything better, actually.

So if Parent24 makes it to the next life, and you happen to be on it . . . look out for someone who reminds you of Big Tom’s Mom circa 2010 – 2040 (I reckon I can stop blogging on mommy blogs when Big Tom is 32) and make friends with me! I will be the one with the tickers always counting down the birth of my next baby. Will have more tickers than posts!

Oh and if Food24 makes it to the next life, I will also have a foodblog: How to feed a family of 20 for under R10 000!

 

29 thoughts on “In my next life . . .

  1. Sumanda

    Weet jy wat is my definisie van Feminisme?
    Die vryheid vir ‘n vrou om te kies wat sy self wil wees, maak nie saak wat dit is nie. As pregnant, barefoot & in the kitchen jou droom is, is dit JOU keuse. Die Ultimate Feminist! 🙂

    En ek stem 100% saam met jou opinie oor die old boys club.

    Reply
  2. Me and Mine

    Brilliant!! I concur with all your sentiments, I would have loved to be a SAHM with a great man such as yours.
    I do have the next best thing I suppose, a job that is flexible enough to accommodate the ever growing needs of a maturing daughter, and a father (who is my business partner) who believes that she has to come first. I am lucky indeed (but not rich yet)!!
    Loads of hugs. xx

    Reply
  3. mamasnich

    ***Sigh*** I wish I could be a SAHM but not with 20 kids. Hell no! I will not have any money at all then.

    Reply
  4. rochelle.barrish Post author

    Hahaha! Seeing as how in this life my kid wouldn’t engage and I had to have an emergency C-section . . . I hope my cervix in the next life is more accommodating (or my babies are more engaging!)

    Reply
  5. Cams @HoneyKids

    I bet some of the SAHM’s look at us working women and wish they could trade places with us.
    That old boys club is alive and thriving. My ex and I work in the same field, doing very similar work and he earns twice what I do. In fact the number of times he asked for my help on his projects because I’m better at it is uncountable! Go figure.
    Anyhoooo, moving on.
    I believe wealth is not in the money we have but in the richness in our world and looking at most of us here, based on that we are all wealthy 🙂 We have people that love us, friends and amazing kids.

    Reply
  6. Cams @HoneyKids

    I bet some of the SAHM’s look at us working women and wish they could trade places with us.
    That old boys club is alive and thriving. My ex and I work in the same field, doing very similar work and he earns twice what I do. In fact the number of times he asked for my help on his projects because I’m better at it is uncountable! Go figure.
    Anyhoooo, moving on.
    I believe wealth is not in the money we have but in the richness in our world and looking at most of us here, based on that we are all wealthy 🙂 We have people that love us, friends and amazing kids.

    Reply
  7. chubby mummy

    Hello you…
    I am fortunate that in my 15 years of being a mom, I have been all three, a SAHM, a working mom and a work from home mom…..
    The latter being by far the most difficult.
    In my next life I just wanna do everything slightly slower and try and remember all the important things rather than the hurtful things.
    Nice to have found you….again….

    Reply
    1. rochelle.barrish Post author

      You are fortunate, indeed! Thank you for finding me again. I don’t know my a**e from my elbow in new blogland!

      Reply
  8. chubby mummy

    Hello you…
    I am fortunate that in my 15 years of being a mom, I have been all three, a SAHM, a working mom and a work from home mom…..
    The latter being by far the most difficult.
    In my next life I just wanna do everything slightly slower and try and remember all the important things rather than the hurtful things.
    Nice to have found you….again….

    Reply
    1. rochelle.barrish Post author

      You are fortunate, indeed! Thank you for finding me again. I don’t know my a**e from my elbow in new blogland!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

