Guardian Angels or summat . . .

In the last week of May this year, I was on leave and had a friend out from up Norf. It was my birthday week and we were just hanging out and having loads of catch-up epsiodes.

On one morning we decided to take a nice early morning walk on the Muizenberg – St James catwalk. It’s a very popular walk for families, runners and even some fishermen (it’s a little elevated concrete strip running along the water’s edge). It was drizzling a bit and we were strolling along chatting about life, love and everything else.

About halfway in I suddenly got this smell (you know the smell you get when  you’ve been in someone’s kitchen? their cooking smells?) that just didn’t “fit”into my early morning walk-along-the-beach smell.

I stopped dead, turned around and there were these two guys on top of us. The points of our shoes were touching, that’s how close they were to us. I could smell his breath and I could see every line on his face. I was truly paralysed with fear. Don’t know what my face looked like but my heart was in my throat. I was mentally preparing to just hand over my bag, watch and rings. I don’t know what we were thinking walking with our bags. I think it’s because she is a visitor and decided to take her bag, I just did the same. We must’ve been very tempting to skellums.

Once I could talk again (within split seconds, why does it alwasy feel so loooong?) I said Öh hello!” Stood to the side and said “After you.”

Don’t know how I got it together so quickly but I did. The Simonstown railway runs above this walk so there are many subways leading off this walk. We were about 5 metres away from a subway and these two guys disappeared into one of them after I let them through.

The weirdest of all is that before I got that smell, we couldn’t hear them at all. Not a sound, so they were definitely creeping up on us. And once I let them through, we could clearly hear their footsteps.

I don’t know what made them not follow through with whatever dastardly plan they had, but am grateful their minds were changed.

Makes me think of that story that’s been circulating via e-mail. Not sure if it’s an urban legend or not. Something about a woman walking through alley or subway and finding out the next day that a woman was raped and murdered there minutes after she had walked through and seen the guy. She is then asked to identify him at the police station and asks him why he didn’t attack her. He then replies that he didn’t attack her because she had two guys walking with her!

Goosies.

8 thoughts on “Guardian Angels or summat . . .

  1. Me and Mine

    Your Guardian Angels knew you had been through enough in the last while and they carried you through this.
    Well done for keeping your cool on the outside even if you didn’t feel that way inside.
    Lots of hugs. xx

    Reply
  2. nusha

    WOW! Seriously creepy … he was THAT close to you guys??!!! Very impressed that you managed to keep cool and calm … hugs!

    Reply
  3. Cams @HoneyKids

    You’re my hero Shell. I’m sure by looking directly at them you disarmed them and took away the element of surprise. Good thing your angels alerted you to the smell

    Reply

Leave a Reply

