Going solo . . .

I know I’ve said this before, but bloody hell, I take my hat, bra, and even pantaloons off to single moms and those single dads who are hands on. I’m flying solo this week and besides the obvious reasons for missing the captain of my heart and home, there are loads of other things he does that I totally take for granted and when he’s not around, it feels like I’m missing a limb.

All the single moms out there? I cannot believe there is not a Single Mom’s Day. Because feck, you deserve it. I will never ever ever complain again. Because, really, I have no reason whatsoever to complain.

Don’t get me wrong. I can so fly solo, it’s just really difficult to keep all the balls in the air when you’re alone. And having a super husband who just makes everything tick in the background, adds to the dropping of balls when he’s away.

Thomas has gone to school minus the usual things.
We’ve been super late.
We’ve almost missed the carpool.
He’s had Charly’s cake for breakfast.
He’s gone to bed in his clothes. No bath, no brushing of teeth.
And the poor child has even had to bring me my wine.

Big love and respect to all the single mommies. You guys are frigging awesome.
PS: If you’re a single involved dad, take a bow!

2 thoughts on “Going solo . . .

  1. sharons58

    Thank you Shell!! I must admit that when you are doing the single Mom thing on a permanent basis it does get a little easier. My biggest issue at the moment is dealing with the teenage years alone, it would be nice to not have to be both bad cop and good cop!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

