A 7 yr old mom

Just realized that’s what I am. In mommy years, I’m almost 7 years old. No mean feat.

And just like any almost 7 year old, I am exploring my brave new world. I have tantrums (why do I have to share my last cupcake with my son? Why do I feel compelled to buy him something before I get myself something? Why do I have to get up early on a Saturday for extramurals?) Why Why Why

I have sulky moments where everything is NO NO NO. NO I don’t want to be the one to wipe your bottom this time. No I don’t want to bath you again. No I don’t want to deal with a cranky child who didn’t get to nap today.

I have moments of awesome discoveries. Seeing the world through an almost 7 year old’s eyes is pretty awesome. The finest detail gets picked up on and dissected. There’s wonder in the smallest of things and most things I take for granted are brand new to him.

He’s starting to recognize words and wants to start reading. Seeing how he connects letters to form words and hearing how he spells things out is incredibly sweet. I’m learning how a ‘d’ has a big bottom and a ‘b’ has a big tummy.

Those precious teeth we both cried over in the first two years of his life, are now falling like they’re being paid to fall. And the fact that he believes in the tooth fairy is just so awesome. The excitement at another tooth falling out and the money the tooth fairy will bring is so sweet to witness.

I’m no super mom and my kid is no angel. But for almost 7 year olds, I reckon we’re doing pretty well.

One thought on “A 7 yr old mom

Leave a Reply

