I am the captain now!

Finally got to see Captain Phillips this weekend. The movie with Tom Hanks vs Somali pirates??

Just realized anew why Tom is one of my fave actors. He can play an ordinary guy in extraordinary circumstances and make it look and feel so real.

Unfortunately for Elton and Thomas, I’ve now taken to running around the house shouting “I am the captain now!” randomly. Hahaha. Love it.

It’s been a week of introspection for me as my annual date with my cardio is this Friday. It always makes me think of when I was at my weakest and thought I was circling the drain.

One of the things I thought about was Thomas and what sort of person he will become and what he will end up doing. I tried looking at my child from an outsider’s perspective and tried to see if I would have liked him if he weren’t my kid. (Am so relieved we don’t have to like all kids just because we’re parents.)

My verdict? My kid is okay. I don’t know that he will change the world or be a Mensa prodigy, but what I do know is that he is helluva kind and a gentle soul. And there aren’t many of those around. Thanks to his amazing dad who is just as kind and gentle. No douchebaggery in father or son.

The next challenge is to keep him kind and gentle throughout the years coming. I have no control over the douche friends he’ll have or any other douche influences he’ll come across in his life. But as long as I have breath, it is my responsibility to make sure his kindness and gentle spirit is not overshadowed by others or other influences. Because, after all, “I am the captain now!”.

 

One thought on “I am the captain now!

  1. Deblet

    Ha ha love the douce friends reference…..It is a constant worry that they will choose friends wisely.
    Hope the check with the cardio was all good……come a long way since then.
    And for the record ..what’s not to love about gorgeous Big Tom?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

