Daily Archives: February 16, 2011

Lie to me, baby!

According to baby brain experts, if your child is able to manipulate you and twist the truth a little, you have the makings of a clever little one. And if they can conjure up friends and different situations, you’re well on your way to MENSA.

My Thomas is earning his MENSA colours.

We’ve had a few nights recently where the wind was howling and even I was scared. He ran into our room saying he was scared or he had a bad dream. We would then get him in between us and love and cuddle and make a big fuss. He’s settled down a bit now and two nights ago, he came strolling through to our room. I could see that he was fine and just wanted to sleep with us. I asked him what the matter was and I could see him realising: “Uh oh, I have to have a good reason to get her to let me into her bed.” Next thing, the hand goes up to the eyes and the bottom lip kicks out and he says in the most pathetic of put-on sad voices: “I had a bad dream, Mama. I want you.”

WELL, I had to hide my face from him, have a quick laugh and pick him to put him in bed with us. HAHAHAHAHA. Funny sausage.

He’s also started talking about an imaginary brother he has. The brother does loads of fun things with him and the brother has more authority than us parents have. He won’t do something unless his brother has said he should. We need to tell his brother to ok it.

Hmmm… Genius or psycho in the making?