Comfort…

I don’t really know Rochelle at all, but reading this email (and her previous ones) she is obviously incredibly special and strong. Elton is blessed to have her J

A very good friend of mine ( I would say bestie, but it sounds empty and juvenile) sent me this mail from someone who knows Elton. It was in response to the latest update on Elton’s condition.

And it hit me right in the feels. And the fact that it came from someone who doesn’t really know me except as Elton’s wife made it all the more comforting. I know all our friends feel the same way [they tell me all the time :-)]. But it felt really, really, really  good to read that.

It is the words of comfort from friends that comforts me when I want to give in to the emptiness I feel when I think of PH. When fear fills my heart, my lungs and constricts my ability to think straight or even breathe.  When I am not feeling incredibly strong. When all I want to do is to RUN. When all I want is my mommy to tell me it was all a bad dream and that I’m awake now. It is in those early mornings when the house is quiet and it’s just me and the dogs that are awake, that I grab onto the comforting words of our friends and hold on for dear life. Because if I don’t the men in the white coats will have to fetch me.

Suppose what I am trying to say is, don’t ever apologise for saying what feels to you like empty words:
“I am sorry and I’m here if you ever need to talk.”
“I don’t know anything about this PH but it sounds kak, please help me understand more as I want to know what is happening with Elton.”
“You guys are my some of my favourite people and when you hurt, I hurt.”
“I love you and I love your boys, please let me help you.”
“I love you guys, please help me understand and how can I help.”
“You guys are always in my thoughts.”
“I am lighting candles for the 3 of you, ( Vanilla :-)) and sending out positive vibes, and holding thumbs for you. Thinking of you in this time.”
“How are you guys feeling after the latest news?”
“You guys ok? You’ve been quiet.”

These are just some of the words spoken and sent by our PH village. Words that might sound empty to you but it helps to fill the hole that PH blasted through our little world.

Thank you is all I can say. Oh and keep ’em coming. There is only so much comfort a sleepy dog can give you at 3 in the morning. xxx

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Comfort…

  1. halberts2014

    I does warm my heart when virtual, literally, strangers reach out, just to let you know they are there. I have a few bloggies to whom I reach out to when I pick up on trouble. And I would like to think I could offer them the same ‘service’
    I actually googled PH when I was reading your blog once and I feel for you. You sound like you are all handling it well, but sometimes I’m sure you feel like hiding your head and wishing it weren’t there. I’m sure everyone who follows your blog is there for you, for comfort and support.
    Big Hugs, I do think of you

    Reply

Leave a comment